Sponsored Programs and Research Services

Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC)

The Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC) is the administrative and decision-making body having responsibility for review and approval of research involving recombinant or synthetic DNA.  Before any research involving recombinant or synthetic DNA can be initiated it must have received IBC review and approval.  Please see the forms below to complete the IBC application, submit completed applications to biosafetycommittee@csuohio.edu.  You may also review the requirements for Biosafety level 1 and 2 labs below.

Links to the NIH Guidelines, the Biosafety in Microbiological and Biomedical Laboratories (BMBL) 5th edition, and other biosafety guidance is available under the Links section.

IBC Forms for Download
IBC Requirements
Links to NIH and CDC Biosafety Guidelines
 Members of the Institutional Biosafety Committee
Member Phone Email
Aaron Severson (IBC Chair) 216-687-4864 a.severson@csuohio.edu
Andrew Resnick 216-687-2437 a.resnick@csuohio.edu
Bibo Li 216-687-2444 b.li37@csuohio.edu
Vania De Paoli 216-687-2463 v.depaoli@csuohio.edu
Lou Turchyn 216-687-2071 l.turchyn14@csuohio.edu
Geyou Ao 216-687-3522 g.ao@csuohio.edu
David Diggins 216-523-7588 d.diggins@csuohio.edu
Carrie Millward 216-687-2443 c.millward@csuohio.edu
Richard London -- richard.london@tri-c.edu
Nneha Sakre -- nsakre@yahoo.com
Barsanjit Mazumder* 216-687-2435 b.mazumder@csuohio.edu

*IACUC chair (ex officio, non-voting member)