Human Resources

Service Awards 2023

service 2023 2.jpgOn April 13, Cleveland State University celebrated its Service Awards with an honors luncheon in the Student Center Glasscock Family Foundation Ballroom.

CSU recognized faculty and staff across eight colleges and schools and nine departments for their years of service to the university in increments of five years, beginning with their tenth year. 

“We are here today to recognize and celebrate staff members who have dedicated over 2,100 years of service to the University,” said CSU President Laura Bloomberg, noting the outstanding dedication, competence, exceptional performance, excellent service to the campus community, ingenuity, and leadership in the room.

Distinguished Faculty Awards are given annually in three categories of research, service and teaching, the Distinguished Research Awards are intended to honor those whose research or creative work has been recognized in the scholarly or creative community as exceptional. Distinguished Service Awards are to honor those whose service within and/or outside the University has been exceptional. Distinguished Teaching Awards are intended to honor those whose teaching at Cleveland State is recognized as exceptional. 

Awards presented in these catagories were as follows:

In Research: Valentin Boerner, J. Mark Souther

Service: Judith Ausherman, Beth Ekelman

Teaching: Karen Keptner, Karen McIntyre

Provost's Service: Linda Quinn

Provost's Teaching: Sandra Chincholkar

Distinguished Staff Awards are given annually in four categories to honor employees who have made a significant impact to the University through outstanding dedication, competence, exceptional performance, excellent service to the campus community, ingenuity and leadership. The awards presented were as follows:

New Viking: Lauren Mannella

Exemplary Campus Service: Julie Rittenhouse

Outstanding Achievement and Performance: Juan Amador

President's Leadership: Kristy Tokarczyk

The official Presentation of Service Awards followed. Each college dean and vice president from their respective divisions gave employees their plaques, who were then photographed to commemorate the occasion. Honorees with milestones of 25 years and above also enjoyed a private reception beforehand, followed by a red carpet processional to their seats for the luncheon.

A complete list of honorees can be found in the Ceremony Program.

A special Video Presentation for Milestone award of 50 Years of Service for Professor Sandra Kerber, CSU College of Law. Anna Budziak (40 Years of Service, Office of the Provost) was also acknowledged.

Prior to teaching Legal Writing, Research, and Advocacy at CSU Law full-time, Professor Kerber taught part-time in the Division of Special Studies of Cleveland State University and at Cleveland-Marshall in conjunction with the law school's Legal Career Opportunity Program. She has also practiced law with a concentration in the areas of employment law, probate practice, domestic relations, and personal injury. Prof. Kerber frequently lectures on topics and skills related to legal writing and research and is active in bar and community organizations. She also serves on several community committees. Prof. Kerber serves as the Legal Writing Advisor to the Cleveland State Law Review. She has authored legal writing materials used in teaching legal writing.

Program:  Distinguished Staff and Service Award 2023 Program

Photos: Distinguished Staff and Service Award 2023 Photo Album