Research

University Research Council

What is the University Research Council?

The University Research Council (URC) consists of fifteen eligible faculty or staff members, a representative of the graduate faculty, and the director of Sponsored Programs and Research Services. The responsibilities of the URC include (full bylaws):

  • Reviewing and reporting to the faculty, deans, and the provost on all proposals for new policies or programs designed to enhance research productivity and success.
     
  • Reviewing and recommending changes to the vice president for research on internal funding programs for research.
     
  • Participating in the reviewing of proposals for internal competitions, ranking the proposals and forwarding recommendations for funding to the vice president for research.

URC Members

 #  Member Name
(Function)
College/DEPT Contact Information Term a
1

Böerner, Valentin
(Member)

College of Sciences and Health Professions
(Biology, Geology, Environmental Sciences)

SR-281
523-7557
g.boerner@csuohio.edu

Fall 2017- Spring 2020

2

Jayanti, Rama
(Member)

Monte Ahuja College of Business
(Marketing)

BU-456
687-4786
r.jayanti@csuohio.edu

Spring 2016- Fall 2018

3 Judge, Katherine
(Member)

College of Sciences and Health Professions
(Psychology)

UN-244
875-9751
k.judge46@csuohio.edu

Fall 2016- Spring 2019
4

Lee, Moo-Yeal
(Member)

Washkewicz College of Engineering
(Chemical & Biomedical Engineering)

FH-439
687-9399
m.lee68@csuohio.edu

Spring 2016- Fall 2018

5 Lendel, Iryna
(Member)

Maxine Goodman Levin College of Urban Affairs
(Urban Resrch & Public Serv)

UR-355
875-9967
i.lendel@csuohio.edu

Fall 2016- Spring 2019f

6 Manning, Philip (Member)

College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
(Criminology Anthropology & Sociology)

RT-1725
687-4504
p.manning@csuohio.edu

Fall 2017- Spring 2020

7

O'Neill, Kevin
(Member)

Cleveland-Marshall College of Law
(Law)

LB-151
687-5282
k.oneill@csuohio.edu

Fall 2016- Spring 2019

8

Owino, Meshack
(Member)

College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
(History)

RT-1319
523-7264
m.owino@csuohio.edu

Spring 2016- Fall 2018d

9

Pourdavood, Roland
(Member)

College of Education and Human Services
(Teacher Education)

JH-325
687-2072
r.pourdavood@csuohio.edu

Fall 2017- Spring 2020

10

Schoenewald, Catherine
(Member)

School of Nursing
(School of Nursing)

JH-228
687-3890
c.schoenewald@csuohio.edu

Fall 2017- Spring 2020

11

Snyder, Jeffrey (Member)

Maxine Goodman Levin College of Urban Affairs
(Urban Studies)

UR-225
687-9213
j.w.snyder3@csuohio.edu

Fall 2016- Spring 2019b
12

Voight, Adam
(Member)

College of Education and Human Services
(Curriculum & Foundations)

JH-377
687-5437
a.voight@csuohio.edu

Spring 2016- Fall 2018
13

Wang, Wei
(Member)

Monte Ahuja College of Business
(Finance)

BU-319
875-9854
w.wang24@csuohio.edu

Fall 2016- Spring 2019c

14

Weinstein, Alan
(Member)

Cleveland-Marshall College of Law
(Law)

LB-230
687-3758
a.weinstein@csuohio.edu

Fall 2017- Spring 2020e

15 Wirth, Christopher (Member)

Washkewicz College of Engineering
(Chemical and Biomedical Engineering)

FH-438
687-9225
c.wirth@csuohio.edu

Fall 2016- Spring 2019
 

 

Deng, Ping
(Graduate Council Representative)

Graduate Council
(Management)

BU-434
875-9793
p.deng@csuohio.edu

Fall 2018- Spring 2019

 

 

Sawicki, Jerzy
(Chair)

Office of Research

PH-203
687-9364
j.sawicki@csuohio.edu

 

 

Simon, Dan
(Ex-Officio Member)

Office of Research

PH-210
687-5171
d.j.simon@csuohio.edu

 

 

Yard, Joy
(Administrative Coordinator)

Office of Research

PH-202
697-9364
j.yard@csuohio.edu

 

 

 

Kocevar, Teri
(Director, SPRS)

SPRS, Office of Research

PH-211
687-3675
m.kocevar@csuohio.edu

 

a Terms are inclusive of the beginning and ending semesters indicated
b Professor Jeffrey Snyder is serving a replacement term for Professor Sanda Kaufman
c Professor Wei Wang is serving a replacement term for Professor Susan Storrud-Barnes
d Professor Meshack Owino is serving a replacement term for Professor Michael Baumgartner
e Professor Alan Weinstein is serving a replacement term for Professor Gwendolyn Majette
f Professor Iryna Lendel is serving a replacement term for Professor Robert Gleeson

REVISED
October 2018

URC Meetings

Click here for URC Meeting Minutes (CSU login required).

Fall 2018 URC Meeting Schedule
Date Time Day Location
September 12, 2018 2:00 PM Wednesday PH 200
October 12, 2018 2:00 PM Friday PH 200
November 19, 2018 2:00 PM Monday PH 200