Research

University Research Council

What is the University Research Council?

The University Research Council (URC) consists of fifteen eligible faculty or staff members, a representative of the graduate faculty, and the director of Sponsored Programs and Research Services. The responsibilities of the URC include (full bylaws):

  • Reviewing and reporting to the faculty, deans, and the provost on all proposals for new policies or programs designed to enhance research productivity and success.
     
  • Reviewing and recommending changes to the Vice President for Research on internal funding programs for research.
     
  • Participating in the reviewing of proposals for internal competitions, ranking the proposals and forwarding recommendations for funding to the Vice President for Research.

URC Members

Member Name
(Function)
College/DEPT Contact Information Term a

Böerner, Valentin
(Member)

College of Sciences and Health Professions
(Biology, Geology, Environmental Sciences)

SR-281
523-7557
g.boerner@csuohio.edu

Fall 2020-Spring 2023

Gibson, Maria
(Member)

School of Nursing
(School of Nursing)

JH-225
875-9873
m.k.gibson16@csuohio.edu

Fall 2020-Spring 2023

Guzman, Tatyana (Member)

Maxine Goodman Levin College of Urban Affairs
(Urban Studies)

UR-313
875-9962
t.guzman@csuohio.edu

Fall 2021-Spring 2024

Heus, Thijs
(Member)

College of Sciences and Health Professions
(Physics)

SR-126
687-2426
t.heus@csuohio.edu

Fall 2019-Spring 2022

Jayanti, Rama
(Member)

Monte Ahuja College of Business
(Marketing)

BU-456
687-4786
r.jayanti@csuohio.edu

Spring 2019-Fall 2021

Mageean, Deirdre
(Member)

Maxine Goodman Levin College of Urban Affairs
(Urban Studies)

UR-351
687-5261
d.mageean@csuohio.edu

Fall 2019-Spring 2022

Majette, Gwendolyn (Member)

Cleveland-Marshall College of Law
(Law)

LB-221
687-2592
g.magette@csuohio.edu

Fall 2020-Spring 2023

Mallett, Christopher (Member)

College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
(School of Social Work)

RT-1426
523-7514
c.a.mallett@csuohio.edu

Fall 2020-Spring 2023

O'Neill, Kevin
(Member)

Cleveland-Marshall College of Law
(Law)

LB-151
687-5282
k.oneill@csuohio.edu

Fall 2019-Spring 2022

Owino, Meshack (Member)

College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
(School of Social Work)

RT-1357
523-7264
m.owino@csuohio.edu

Spring 2019-Fall 2021

Pourdavood, Roland
(Member)

College of Education and Human Services
(Teacher Education)

JH-325
687-2072
r.pourdavood@csuohio.edu

Fall 2020-Spring 2023

van den Bogert, Antonie (Member)

Washkewicz College of Engineering
(Mechanical Engineering)

FH-104
687-5329
a.vandenbogert@csuohio.edu

Fall 2019-Spring 2022

Voight, Adam
(Member)

College of Education and Human Services
(Curriculum & Foundations)

JH-377
687-5437
a.voight@csuohio.edu

Spring 2019-Fall 2021

Wang, Wei (Member)

Monte Ahuja College of Business
(Finance)

BU-319
875-9854
w.wang24@csuohio.edu

Fall 2019-Spring 2022

Zhang, Wei (Member)

Washkewicz College of Engineering
(Mechanical Engineering)

FH-233
687-2595
w.zhang13@csuohio.edu

Spring 2019-Fall 2021b

 

Zhang, Wei
(Graduate Council Representative)

Graduate Council
(Mechanical Engineering)

FH-233
687-2595
w.zhang13@csuohio.edu

Fall 2021-Spring 2022

 

Meredith Bond
(Chair)

Office of Research

PH-203
687-3544

 

Roman Kondratov
(Ex-Officio Member)

Office of Research

PH-210
687-5171
r.kondratov@csuohio.edu

 

Yard, Joy
(Administrative Coordinator)

Office of Research

PH-202
687-9364
j.yard@csuohio.edu

 

Kocevar, Teri
(Director, SPRS)

SPRS, Office of Research

PH-211
687-3675
m.kocevar@csuohio.edu

 

a Terms are inclusive of the beginning and ending semesters indicated
b Wei Zhang is serving a replacement term for Ye Zhu.

REVISED
November 2021

URC Meetings

Click here for URC Meeting Minutes (CSU login required).

Fall 2021 URC Meeting Schedule
Date Time Day Location
September 10 12:30 - 2:00 pm Friday PH 200
October 15 10:00 - 11:30 am Friday PH 200
November 12 2:00 - 3:30 pm Friday PH 200