Research

University Research Council

What is the University Research Council?

The University Research Council (URC) consists of fifteen eligible faculty or staff members, a representative of the graduate faculty, and the director of Sponsored Programs and Research Services. The responsibilities of the URC include (full bylaws):

  • Reviewing and reporting to the faculty, deans, and the provost on all proposals for new policies or programs designed to enhance research productivity and success.
     
  • Reviewing and recommending changes to the Senior Vice President for Research on internal funding programs for research.
     
  • Participating in the reviewing of proposals for internal competitions, ranking the proposals and forwarding recommendations for funding to the Senior Vice President for Research.

URC Members

Member Name
(Function)
College/DEPTContact InformationTerm a

Böerner, Valentin
(Member)

College of Sciences and Health Professions
(Biology, Geology, Environmental Sciences)

SR-281
523-7557
g.boerner@csuohio.edu

Fall 2020-Spring 2023

Ganning, Joanna (Member)

Maxine Goodman Levin College of Urban Affairs
(Urban Studies)

UR-222
687-2221
j.ganning@csuohio.edu

Spring 2019-Fall 2021c

Heus, Thijs
(Member)

College of Sciences and Health Professions
(Physics)

SR-126
687-2426
t.heus@csuohio.edu

Fall 2019-Spring 2022

Jayanti, Rama
(Member)

Monte Ahuja College of Business
(Marketing)

BU-456
687-4786
r.jayanti@csuohio.edu

Spring 2019-Fall 2021

Kostandy, Raouth
(Member)

School of Nursing
(School of Nursing)

JH-262
523-7318
r.kostandy@csuohio.edu

Fall 2020-Spring 2023

Mageean, Deirdre
(Member)

Maxine Goodman Levin College of Urban Affairs
(Urban Studies)

UR-351
687-5261
d.mageean@csuohio.edu

Fall 2019-Spring 2022

Majette, Gwendolyn (Member)

Cleveland-Marshall College of Law
(Law)

LB-221
687-2592
g.magette@csuohio.edu

Fall 2020-Spring 2023

Mallett, Christopher (Member)

College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
(School of Social Work)

RT-1426
523-7514
c.a.mallett@csuohio.edu

Fall 2020-Spring 2023

O'Neill, Kevin
(Member)

Cleveland-Marshall College of Law
(Law)

LB-151
687-5282
k.oneill@csuohio.edu

Fall 2019-Spring 2022

Owino, Meshack (Member)

College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
(School of Social Work)

RT-1357
523-7264
m.owino@csuohio.edu

Spring 2019-Fall 2021

Pourdavood, Roland
(Member)

College of Education and Human Services
(Teacher Education)

JH-325
687-2072
r.pourdavood@csuohio.edu

Fall 2020-Spring 2023

Schearer, Eric (Member)

Washkewicz College of Engineering
(Mechanical Engineering)

FH-104
687-6901
e.schearer@csuohio.edu

Fall 2019-Spring 2022b

Shen, Yinjie (Member)

Monte Ahuja College of Business
(Finance)

BU-336
875-9804
y.shen61@csuohio.edu

Fall 2019-Spring 2022d

Voight, Adam
(Member)

College of Education and Human Services
(Curriculum & Foundations)

JH-377
687-5437
a.voight@csuohio.edu

Spring 2019-Fall 2021

Zhang, Wei (Member)

Washkewicz College of Engineering
(Mechanical Engineering)

FH-233
687-2595
w.zhang13@csuohio.edu

Spring 2019-Fall 2021e

 

Kelle DeBoth
(Graduate Council Representative)

Graduate Council
(School of Health Sciences)

IM-323
687-3628
k.deboth@csuohio.edu

Fall 2020-Spring 2021

 

Faison, Forrest
(Chair)

Office of Research

PH-203
687-3544
c.faison@csuohio.edu

 

Roman Kondratov
(Ex-Officio Member)

Office of Research

PH-210
687-5171
r.kondratov@csuohio.edu

 

Yard, Joy
(Administrative Coordinator)

Office of Research

PH-202
687-9364
j.yard@csuohio.edu

 

Kocevar, Teri
(Director, SPRS)

SPRS, Office of Research

PH-211
687-3675
m.kocevar@csuohio.edu

 

a Terms are inclusive of the beginning and ending semesters indicated
b Eric Schearer is serving a replacement term for Antonie van den Bogert.
c Joanna Ganning is serving a replacement term for Jeffrey Snyder.
d Yinjie Shen is serving a replacement term for Wei Wang.
e Wei Zhang is serving a replacement term for Ye Zhu.

REVISED
May 2021

URC Meetings

Click here for URC Meeting Minutes (CSU login required).

Spring 2021 URC Meeting Schedule

Spring meetings will be scheduled soon.

DateTimeDayLocation
February 5, 202112:00 pmFridayZoom
March 5, 202112:00 pmFridayZoom
March 19, 202112:00 pmFridayZoom