Research

University Research Council

What is the University Research Council?

The University Research Council (URC) consists of fifteen eligible faculty or staff members, a representative of the graduate faculty, and the director of Sponsored Programs and Research Services. The responsibilities of the URC include (full bylaws):

  • Reviewing and reporting to the faculty, deans, and the provost on all proposals for new policies or programs designed to enhance research productivity and success.
     
  • Reviewing and recommending changes to the vice president for research on internal funding programs for research.
     
  • Participating in the reviewing of proposals for internal competitions, ranking the proposals and forwarding recommendations for funding to the vice president for research.

URC Members

 #  Member Name
(Function)
College/DEPT Contact Information Term a
1

Böerner, Valentin
(Member)

College of Sciences and Health Professions
(Biology, Geology, Environmental Sciences)

SR-281
523-7557
g.boerner@csuohio.edu

Fall 2017- Spring 2020

2

Heus, Thijs
(Member)

College of Sciences and Health Professions
(Physics)

SR-126
687-2426
t.heus@csuohio.edu

Fall 2019- Spring 2022

3

Jayanti, Rama
(Member)

Monte Ahuja College of Business
(Marketing)

BU-456
687-4786
r.jayanti@csuohio.edu

Spring 2019- Fall 2021

4

Kostandy, Raouth
(Member)

School of Nursing
(School of Nursing)

JH-262
523-7318
r.kostandy@csuohio.edu

Fall 2017- Spring 2020b

5

Mageean, Deirdre
(Member)

Maxine Goodman Levin College of Urban Affairs
(Urban Studies)

UR-351
687-5261
d.mageean@csuohio.edu

Fall 2019- Spring 2022

6

Majette, Gwendolyn (Member)

Cleveland-Marshall College of Law
(Law)

LB-221
687-2592
g.magette@csuohio.edu

Fall 2017- Spring 2020

7 Manning, Philip (Member)

College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
(Criminology Anthropology & Sociology)

RT-1725
687-4504
p.manning@csuohio.edu

Fall 2017- Spring 2020

8

O'Neill, Kevin
(Member)

Cleveland-Marshall College of Law
(Law)

LB-151
687-5282
k.oneill@csuohio.edu

Fall 2019- Spring 2022

9

Owino, Meshack
(Member)

College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
(History)

RT-1319
523-7264
m.owino@csuohio.edu

Spring 2019- Fall 2021

10

Pourdavood, Roland
(Member)

College of Education and Human Services
(Teacher Education)

JH-325
687-2072
r.pourdavood@csuohio.edu

Fall 2017- Spring 2020

11

Snyder, Jeffrey (Member)

Maxine Goodman Levin College of Urban Affairs
(Urban Studies)

UR-225
687-9213
j.w.snyder3@csuohio.edu

Spring 2019- Fall 2021

12

van den Bogert, Antonie (Member)

Washkewicz College of Engineering
(Mechanical Engineering)

FH-104
687-5329
a.vandenbogert@csuohio.edu

Fall 2019-Spring 2022
13

Voight, Adam
(Member)

College of Education and Human Services
(Curriculum & Foundations)

JH-377
687-5437
a.voight@csuohio.edu

Spring 2019- Fall 2021

14

Wang, Wei
(Member)

Monte Ahuja College of Business
(Finance)

BU-319
875-9854
w.wang24@csuohio.edu

Fall 2019- Spring 2022

15 Zhu, Ye (Member)

Washkewicz College of Engineering
(Electrical Engineering & Computer Science)

FH-217
875-9749
y.zhu61@csuohio.edu

Spring 2019- Fall 2021

 

 

Pourdavood, Roland
(Graduate Council Representative)

Graduate Council
(Teacher Education)

JH-325
687-2072
r.pourdavood@csuohio.edu

Fall 2019- Spring 2020

 

 

Sawicki, Jerzy
(Chair)

Office of Research

PH-203
687-9364
j.sawicki@csuohio.edu

 

 

Simon, Dan
(Ex-Officio Member)

Office of Research

PH-210
687-5171
d.j.simon@csuohio.edu

 

 

Yard, Joy
(Administrative Coordinator)

Office of Research

PH-202
697-9364
j.yard@csuohio.edu

 

 

 

Kocevar, Teri
(Director, SPRS)

SPRS, Office of Research

PH-211
687-3675
m.kocevar@csuohio.edu

 

a Terms are inclusive of the beginning and ending semesters indicated
b Professor Raouth Kostandy is serving a replacement term for Professor Catherine Schoenewald

REVISED
October 2019

URC Meetings

Click here for URC Meeting Minutes (CSU login required).

Fall 2019 URC Meeting Schedule

Fall meetings will be scheduled soon.

Date Time Day Location
October 3, 2019 10:00 AM Thursday PH 200
October 28, 2019 1:30 PM Monday PH 200
December 2, 2019 2:00 PM Monday PH 200