Center for Gene Regulation in Health and Disease (GRHD)

Faculty Members

DIRECTOR

Dr. Anton A. Komar
Director, Professor
Location: SR 259
a.komar@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)687-2516
Fax: (216)687-6972
Research Interests: Translational control of gene expression and protein folding. Implications for neurodegenerative disease and drug design to treat heart disease and cancer.
Funded by NIH, AHA and HFSP (Human Frontier Science Program)
GRHD Lab web page

 
PLANNING COMMITTEE

Dr. Michael Kalafatis
Professor
Location: SR 370
m.kalafatis@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)687-2460
Fax: 
(216)687-9289
Research Interests: Blood coagulation and apoptosis (cell death). Implications for heart disease and cancer.
Funded by NIH
GRHD Lab web page


Dr. Anton A. Komar
Professor
Location: SR 259
a.komar@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)687-2516
Fax: (216)687-6972
Research Interests: Translational control of gene expression and protein folding. Implications for neurodegenerative disease and drug design to treat heart disease and cancer.
Funded by NIH, AHA and HFSP (Human Frontier Science Program)
GRHD Lab web page


Dr. Barsanjit Mazumder
Professor
Location: SR 261
b.mazumder@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)687-2435
Fax: (216)687-6972
Research Interests: Regulation of inflammation. Implications for heart disease and other inflammatory diseases.
Funded by NIH and AHA
GRHD Lab web page


Dr. Crystal M. Weyman
Professor
Location: SR 266
c.weyman@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)687-6971
Fax: (216)687-6972
Research Interests: Apoptosis. Implications for heart disease, muscular dystrophy and cancer.

Funded by NIH
 
GRHD REGULAR FACULTY


Dr. Sailen Barik
Professor
Location: SR 263

s.barik@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)523-7326
Fax: (216)687-6972
Research Interests: Regulation of Cardiopulmonary Innate Immunity. Implications for lung disease and inflammatory diseases.
Funded by NIH
GRHD Lab web page


Dr. Anthony Berdis
Assistant Professor
Location: SR 363
a.berdis@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)687-2454
Fax: (216)687-9289
Research Interests: DNA replication, nucleoside analogs, cancer.

 
Funded by NIH and NSF


Dr. Valentin Boerner
Associate Professor
Location: SR 281
g.boerner@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)523-7557
Fax: (216)687-6972
Research Interests: Mechanisms of Chromosome Segregation during Meiosis. Implications for reproductive health.
Funded by NIH
GRHD Lab web page


Dr. Roman Kondratov
Associate Professor
Location: SR 270

r.kondratov@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)523-7199
Fax: (216)687-6972
Research Interests: Circadian system regulation. Implications for aging and age-related diseases such as heart disease.
Funded by NIH and AHA
GRHD Lab web page

 

Dr. Bibo Li
Associate Professor
Location: SR 253

b.li37@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)687-2444
Fax: (216)687-6972
Research Interests: Telomere function. Implications for infectious disease, aging and cancer.
Funded by NIH
GRHD Lab web page

 

Dr. Andrew Resnick
Assistant Professor
Location: SI 121

a.resnick@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)687-2437
Fax: 
Research Interests: Studies of mechanotransduction response in epithelial cells using state-of-the-art physical tools and biomarkers.
Funded by NIH
GRHD Lab web page


Dr. Aaron F. Severson
Assistant Professor
Location: SR 275

a.severson@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)687-4864
Fax:  (216)687-6972
Research Interests: Mechanisms involved in the production of normal sperm and eggs. Implications for human fertility and reproductive health.
GRHD Lab web page


Dr. Girish Shukla
Associate Professor
Location: SR 256

g.shukla@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)687-2395
Fax: (216)687-6972
Research Interests: Regulation of mRNA processing. Implications for cancer diagnosis and treatment.
Funded by DoD
GRHD Lab web page


Dr. Bin Su
Assistant Professor
Location: SR 361

b.su@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)687-9219
Fax: (216)687-9289
Research Interests: Design and development of novel anticancer drugs.
Funded by NIH
GRHD Lab web page


Dr. Xue-Long Sun
Professor
Location: SI 313

x.sun55@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)687-3919
Fax: (216)687-9289
Research Interests: Antithrombotics. Implications for heart disease.

Funded by NIH and AHA


Dr. Aimin Zhou
Professor
Location: SI 424

a.zhou@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)687-2416
Fax: (216)687-9289
Research Interests: Interferon and RNase L signaling. Implications for infectious disease, heart disease and cancer.
Funded by NIH
GRHD Lab web page