Center for Gene Regulation in Health and Disease

Faculty Members

DIRECTOR

Dr. Anton A. Komar
Director, Professor
Location: SR 259
a.komar@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)523-7259
Fax: 
Research Interests: Translational control of gene expression and protein folding. Implications for neurodegenerative disease and drug design to treat heart disease and cancer.
Funded by AHA and HFSP (Human Frontier Science Program)
GRHD Lab web page

PLANNING COMMITTEE

Dr. Michael Kalafatis
Professor
Location: SR 370
m.kalafatis@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)687-2460
Fax: 

Research Interests: Blood coagulation and apoptosis (cell death). Implications for heart disease and cancer.
Funded by NIH
GRHD Lab web page

Dr. Anton A. Komar
Director
Location: SR 259
a.komar@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)523-7259
Fax: 
Research Interests: Translational control of gene expression and protein folding. Implications for neurodegenerative disease and drug design to treat heart disease and cancer.
Funded by AHA and HFSP (Human Frontier Science Program)
GRHD Lab web page

Dr. Barsanjit Mazumder
Professor
Location: SI 261
b.mazumder@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)687-2435
Fax:
Research Interests: Regulation of inflammation. Implications for heart disease and other inflammatory diseases.
Funded by NIH and AHA
GRHD Lab web page

Dr. Crystal M. Weyman
Professor
Location: SR 266
c.weyman@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)687-6971
Fax:
Research Interests: Apoptosis (cell death). Implications for heart disease, muscular dystrophy and cancer.
Funded by NIH
GRHD Lab web page

GRHD REGULAR FACULTY

Dr. Sailen Barik
Professor
Location: SR 263

s.barik@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)523-7326
Fax:
Research Interests: Regulation of Cardiopulmonary Innate Immunity. Implications for lung disease and inflammatory diseases.
Funded by NIH
GRHD Lab web page

Dr. Anthony Berdis
Assistant Professor
Location: SR 363
a.berdis@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)687-2454
Fax:
Research Interests: Funded by NIH & NSF
GRHD Lab web page

Dr. Valentin Boerner
Associate Professor
Location: SR 281
g.boerner@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)523-7557
Fax:
Research Interests: Mechanisms of Chromosome Segregation during Meiosis. Implications for reproductive health.
Funded by NIH, Institute of General Medicine
GRHD Lab web page

Dr. Roman Kondratov
Associate Professor
Location: SR 270

r.kondratov@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)523-7199
Fax:
Research Interests: Circadian system regulation. Implications for aging and age-related diseases such as heart disease.
Funded by AHA and NIH
GRHD Lab web page

Dr. Bibo Li
Associate Professor
Location: SR 253

b.li37@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)687-2444
Fax:
Research Interests: Telomere (sections of DNA at the ends of chromosomes) function. Implications for infectious disease, aging and cancer.
Funded by NIH
GRHD Lab web page

Dr. Andrew Resnick
Assistant Professor
Location: SI 121

a.resnick@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)687-2437
Fax:  
Research Interests: Studies of mechanotransduction response in epithelial cells using state-of-the-art physical tools and biomarkers.

Funded by NIH
GRHD Lab web page

Dr. Aaron F. Severson
Assistant Professor
Location: SR 275

a.severson@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)687-4864
Fax: 
Research Interests: Mechanisms involved in the production of normal sperm and eggs. Implications for human fertility and reproductive health.
GRHD Lab web page

Dr. Girish Shukla
Associate Professor
Location: SR 256

g.shukla@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)687-2395
Fax: 
Research Interests: Regulation of mRNA processing. Implications for cancer diagnosis and treatment.
Funded by DoD
GRHD Lab web page

Dr. Bin Su
Assistant Professor
Location: SR 361

b.su@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)687-9219
Fax: 
Research Interests: Design and development of novel anticancer drugs.
Funded by NIH
GRHD Lab web page

Dr. Xue-Long Sun
Professor
Location: SI 313

x.sun55@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)687-3919
Fax: 
Research Interests: Antithrombotics. Implications for heart disease
Funded by NIH
GRHD Lab web page

Dr. Aimin Zhou
Professor
Location: SI 424

a.zhou@csuohio.edu
Phone: (216)687-2416
Fax: 
Research Interests: Interferon and RNase L signaling. Implications for infectious disease, heart disease and cancer.
Funded by NIH
GRHD Lab web page