Sponsored Programs and Research Services

Institutional Review Board (IRB) for Human Subjects In Research

Even though a project may qualify as “exempt” according to Federal regulations, it is the policy of CSU and the Sponsored Programs and Research Services, that all research conducted through an affiliation with CSU be determined to be a design adequate to answer the questions posed. The Federal regulations are clear in their stipulation that as IRB members are considering whether a research proposal meets the guidelines for treatment of subjects, they must take into account soundness of research design. If a research project is structured in such a way that the project will not yield valid, usable, data that can contribute to the body of knowledge in the discipline, then the IRB cannot approve the project.

Responsibility for guiding students in research design rests with the supervising faculty member. It may seem to researchers, at times, that the IRB creates an impediment to their attempts to carry out a research project. We sincerely want the community of faculty and students at Cleveland State to fully understand the necessity of having a group such as the IRB to ensure safety not only for research subjects, but also for the researchers themselves, as well as the University. It may be helpful for researchers to bear in mind the numerous atrocities and misguided research projects that abused people and gave rise to the Belmont Report, which establishes the ethical principles on which the Federal law and our additional policies are based.

Cleveland State University's IRB is responsible for ensuring
compliance with all federal and State regulations regarding human
subjects. Application for project approval should be submitted to the Office
of Sponsored Programs and Research
(Parker Hannifin Hall, 2nd Floor) for
processing.

Spring 2014 IRB Meeting Schedule

Date Time Day Location
January 27, 2014 10:30 a.m. Monday Parker Hannifin Hall, Room 102
February 27, 2014 2:00 p.m. Thursday Parker Hannifin Hall, Room 200
March 31, 2014 10:30 a.m. Monday Parker Hannifin Hall, Room 200
April 24, 2014 2:00 p.m. Tuesday Parker Hannifin Hall, Room 200

Members of the Insititutional Review Board Committee (AY 2013-2014)

Member Rank Dept Address Phone Fax Email
Jeziorowski, John
(Chair)
Associate
Professor
Health Sci HS 121 3782 9316 j.jeziorowski@csuohio.edu
Govoni, Amy Associate
Professor
Nursing RT 922 5523 3556 a.govoni@csuohio.edu
Lewis, Browne Assistant
Professor
Law LB 213 2352 6881 b.c.lewis@csuohio.edu
Neuendorf, Kimberly Professor COMM MU 241 3994 9294 k.neuendorf@csuohio.edu
Oakar, Kathleen External Member Inmate Rep.   440.845.1830
216.357.7310
  Kathleen_Oakar@ohnp.uscourts.gov
Patterson, Shelia Associate
Professor & Chair
HPERD PE 229 4875 5410 s.m.patterson@csuohio.edu
Perry, Justin Assistant
Professor
CASAL RT 1306 5424 5378 j.c.perry96@csuohio.edu
Rudd, Jill Professor COMM MU 245 3993 9294 j.rudd@csuohio.edu
Stead, Graham Associate
Professor
Curr & Fdn RT 939 9869 5415 g.stead@csuohio.edu
Strong, Bernidean
(Recording Secretary)
  OSPR PH 218 3624 9382 b.r.strong@csuohio.edu

Forms & Policies

Please allow for a minimum of ten (10)
working days after submission before comments are received from the
protocol reviewer.

Any projects seeking to examine or involve protect populations
must be submitted TWO WEEKS prior to
the upcoming full board meeting; any proposals submitted less than two
weeks prior will NOT be reviewed until the following meeting.