News & Announcements

Past and present CSU leaders convene on November 13 for 50th anniversary reflections

The University will bring current and past presidents and Board of Trustees chairpersons together for a series of public panel discussions on Thursday, November 13, 2014, as part of the ongoing yearlong celebration of CSU’s 50th anniversary.

All students, faculty, staff, alumni, and community members are invited to attend the panel event, which will be held in Drinko Auditorium on the first floor of the Music and Communication Building. Both panels will include an opportunity for audience members to ask questions and interact with participants.

Presidents Panel:
“Views of Public Higher Education in the 21st Century” – 3:00-4:00pm

Current president Ronald M. Berkman and past presidents Michael Schwartz and Claire Van Ummersen will speak to the national challenges and opportunities of public higher education during a discussion moderated by WKYC news anchor Russ Mitchell.

Each panel participant will share their unique experience in higher education. President Berkman was named president of CSU in 2009 and has established the University as an innovative force in urban higher education with record enrollment growth. President Emeritus Schwartz served from 2001 to 2009 and led the transformation of CSU during a $500 million campus makeover. President Emerita Van Ummersen served as president of CSU from 1993-2001 and is the current Senior Advisor to the American Council on Education in Washington, D.C.

Board of Trustees Panel:
“Governance Challenges of the Future for Public Universities” – 4:15-5:15pm

For fifty years, as the region’s premier public urban university, CSU has provided an accessible, high-quality education to the people of Cleveland. Board of Trustees chairpersons past and present will join in a discussion of the evolving roles of trustees of public higher education institutions as well as the current challenges faced by trustees, such as student enrollment, funding, shared governance, and program priorities.

Panel participants include current Board chairman Robert H. Rawson, Jr., and past chairmen Michael L. Climaco, Timothy J. Cosgrove, and Ronald E. Weinberg. WEWS news anchor Leon Bibb will moderate this panel discussion.