News & Announcements

CSU to Co-Host NCAA Men's Basketball and Fencing Tournaments

The University and City of Cleveland selected for 2020 first and second round basketball games and 2019 Fencing Championships

The NCAA announced today that Cleveland State University will join the Mid-American Conference and Greater Cleveland Sports Commission as hosts for the 2020 NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championship’s First and Second Rounds. The University will also co-host the 2019 National Collegiate Men's and Women's Fencing Championships with the Greater Cleveland Sports Commission. Both were announced today by the NCAA as part of their selection of multiple tournament championship sites through 2021-2022.

The basketball tournament games will be played at Quicken Loans Arena on Friday, March 20, and Sunday, March 22. The tournament will be the fourth time that The Q will host a Division I NCAA Basketball Championship. The arena was the site for the 2007 NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Final Four, the 2011 NCAA Men's Basketball Second and Third Rounds and the 2015 NCAA Men's Basketball Midwest Regional.

"It's an honor to receive this selection with the Greater Cleveland Sports Commission and Mid-American

Conference," CSU Director of Athletics Mike Thomas said. "We are excited for the NCAA Men's Basketball First and Second Round games to be hosted here in Cleveland.”

The 2019 Fencing Championships will be held March 21-24, and will determine men’s and women’s team and individual champions. Fencers compete in three disciplines: Foil, Épée and Sabre. CSU’s Carlos Songini won the individual Épée title at the 1979 NCAA Fencing Championships.

The NCAA received more than 3,000 bid submissions from NCAA member schools, conferences, sports commissions and cities vying to host predetermined rounds for 84 of the NCAA's 90 championships. A total of 613 sites were awarded for this cycle. The respective NCAA sports committees and the divisional championships cabinets/committees reviewed the bid proposals and selected the sites.

For more information on all of the NCAA championship sites awarded, visit