Division of Continuing and Extended Education

About Us: Staff

Division of Continuing and Extended Education
Nancy M. Pratt, Ph.D. | Executive Director

outlook profile photo.jpg
​​​Dr. Pratt joined Cleveland State in May 2018 as the Division's inaugural executive director. She oversees all continuing education, professional development, workforce development, and lifelong learning throughout the University. Before joining CSU, she worked as Executive Director of Continuing Legal Education and Master's Degree Programs at Case Western Reserve University School of Law. She held multiple positions during her seventeen years of service there. Dr. Pratt has additional experience in curriculum development specific to training civilians to work in areas of armed conflict and civilian leadership during armed conflict. Dr. Pratt is working toward her 2nd Ph.D. in Urban Education with a concentration in Adult Learning, Continuing and Higher Education at Cleveland State University. Her research interests include access to higher education for the adult learner, systems of credentialing in higher education, and the role of higher education in conflict-affected societies. Pratt is an alumna of Union Institute and University (Ph.D.), Hiram College (M.A.), and Case Western Reserve University (B.A.).

EMAIL n.pratt@csuohio.edu | 216-875-9710

Catherine Gunderson | Coordinator
EMAIL c.gunderson@csuohio.edu | 216-875-9731

Ms. Gunderson (Cate) has worked in higher education for over a decade, first at Case Western Reserve University School of Law and then at St. Thomas Law School in Minneapolis before joining Cleveland State University in June of 2022. Cate works closely with the public and our learners, helping to resolve questions or problems, and is the Division liaison for administrative colleagues throughout CSU. Cate is also our facilitator for WIOA (Workforce Inventory and Opportunity Act) processing, reporting, and helping with learner success. Cate is a John Carrol University graduate.

Advisory Council Members 2023-2025

Co-Chair: Andrew Kersten, Ph.D.

A U.S. historian, Dr. Kersten is CSU's inaugural Dean of the new College of Arts and Sciences. Prior, he served as dean of the University of Missouri-St. Louis' College of Arts and Sciences. Previously, he was dean of the College of Letters, Arts, and Social Sciences at the University of Idaho. He was also a faculty member, department chair, and associate provost at the University of Wisconsin-Green Bay. As a faculty member, he taught courses in U.S. history and the interdisciplinary program, Democracy and Justice Studies.

Co-Chair: Richard Schoephoerster, Ph.D.
Dr.  Richard Schoephoerster is currently the Dean of the Washkewicz College of Engineering at Cleveland State University. Before this role, he served as Dean of the Graduate College and Research at Arkansas Tech University in Russellville, Arkansas.  He also recently finished a contract with the American Society of Engineering Education to design, develop, and deliver professional development workshops (the DELTA series) for their 10,000+ members.