News & Announcements

Tachelle Banks, Ph.D. Appointed to CTA Board of Directors

Tachelle Banks, Ph.D. Appointed to CTA Board of Directors Mayor Bibb appoints Dr. Banks, seven others to the board at first ‘23 Cleveland Transformation Alliance meeting

In their first meeting of 2023, the Cleveland Transformation Alliance (CTA) welcomed eight new members to their Board of Directors including Tachelle I. Banks, Ph.D., Presidential Faculty Fellow & Associate Provost for Academic Innovation and Professor of Special Education in the Levin College of Public Affairs and Education.

“The new members represent perspectives tied closely to Cleveland’s schools as well as perspectives that are important to the broader youth agenda and paths to progress for our young people,” according to the press release from the Mayor’s office on Friday, February 3. 

“I appreciate the commitment CTA board members make to ensure that every student in Cleveland attends their best-fit public school,” said Cleveland Mayor Justin M. Bibb in the press release. “I look forward to our continued progress toward the goals of Cleveland’s Plan for Transforming Schools as we work to prepare all of our young people for college and careers.”

Dr. Banks’ research focuses on the role that culture and ethnicity play in emotional competency development and instruction. She is the Editor of Multicultural Learning and Teaching, a multidisciplinary, peer-reviewed international journal devoted to the education of people with diverse multicultural life experiences. 

“I am honored to have been appointed to the Cleveland Transformation Alliance Board,” said Dr. Banks. “I look forward to engaging with and learning from these wonderful leaders to advance educational equity for children and youth and the Greater Cleveland community."

Dr. Banks earned her Bachelor of Arts degree in African American Studies from Ohio University, Master of Education degree from Kent State University, Doctor of Philosophy degree in Special Education from Kent State University. She and the other new directors were all appointed to two-year terms, which run through Dec. 31. 2024.

At the meeting, eight current CTA board members were reappointed to two-year terms and Mayor Bibb and the CTA board also thanked departing members—including Sajit Zachariah, Ph.D., Vice Provost and Dean, CSU Online—for their service and advocacy.