News & Announcements

CSU Student Group Recognized by National Physics Society

The Cleveland State University Chapter of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) has been selected as a 2019 Outstanding SPS Chapter for Zone Seven. The award recognizes chapters that excel in the areas of research, outreach, community service and recruitment. The zone includes universities and colleges in the states of Ohio, Michigan and West Virginia as well as Western Pennsylvania. This is the 10th consecutive year that the CSU group has received the Outstanding SPS Chapter award.

During 2018-19, SPS at CSU hosted a series of on-campus events for students designed to enhance understanding of physics and increase socialization and collegiality. This included Physics Olympics and Physics Jeopardy, liquid nitrogen ice cream socials and a speaker series that brought in outside experts and alumni to discuss current research and career opportunities in science. The Chapter also partnered with Campus International School, a Cleveland public school located on CSU’s campus, to present interactive physics lessons, called “Physics Fridays, created by chapter members, for K-8 students. The effort, which has been supported by American Institute of Physics (AIP) via nine consecutive Marsh White Awards, is designed to further enthusiasm for science among young people, while assisting current CSU students in developing their teaching skills and science appreciation.

In 2019, Chapter members have also presented their research at multiple conferences including PHYSCON 2019 in Providence, RI, the largest physics conference for undergraduate students in the world, and the American Physical Society March meeting in Boston, the largest annual professional meeting of physicists. A total of nine CSU students received National SPS Travel awards in 2019 to attend these events. One example is Aubrey Lokey who attended the American Society of Gravitational and Space Research Conference in Washington, DC where she presented her work on cognitive state monitoring for astronauts. In addition, SPS members Samantha Tietjen and Jacob Adamczyk were recognized by AIP with prestigious 2019 SPS Leadership Scholarships.

“Our SPS chapter serves as a key vehicle to assist physics students in building a physics-minded student community on campus and in developing the tools they will need to excel upon graduation, both in graduate school and in STEM careers,” adds Kiril Streletzky, faculty advisor for SPS at CSU. “I am extremely proud of the continued national recognition the group has received and look forward to working with current and future students to continue the momentum into the next 10 years.”