News & Announcements

CSU Announces Law School 2018 Hall of Fame Honorees

26 distinguished alumni, faculty, staff and friends among inductees

Cleveland–Marshall College of Law at Cleveland State University will induct 26 honorees into its Hall of Fame at an induction ceremony held Friday, October 26, at 5:30 pm in the law school’s Moot Court Room.

The C|M|LAW Hall of Fame was established in 2017 to honor the outstanding contributions to the success and prestige of the law school by distinguished alumni, faculty, staff, friends and community leaders. In its inaugural year, 120 honorees were inducted in celebration of the law school’s 120th anniversary.

“Our distinguished graduates and supporters include nationally prominent attorneys, business leaders, judges, educators and public servants who have made significant and far-reaching positive impact on the school and broader community,” said C|M|LAW Dean Lee Fisher. “The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony presents an opportunity to celebrate these outstanding individuals as a community.”

More information and tickets are available at or by calling 216.687.2537.

2018 C|M|LAW Hall of Fame Honorees

Teresa Metcalf Beasley, Class of 1992
Partner, Calfee, Halter & Griswold LLP

Professor Emerita Susan J. Becker, Class of 1983
Public Interest Leader-in-Residence & Professor of Law Emerita Cleveland-Marshall College of Law

Michael L. Climaco, Class of 1972
Attorney at Law & Former Chair, CSU Board of Trustees

Carol G. Emerling, Class of 1955
Corporation Secretary & Attorney (Retired), American Home Products Corporation

Anthony J. Garofoli, Class of 1961 (deceased)
Partner, Climaco, Wilcox, Peca, Tarantino & Garofoli Co., LPA

Terry H. Gilbert, Class of 1973
Partner, Friedman & Gilbert

Larry H. James, Class of 1977
Managing Partner, Crabbe, Brown & James LLP

Dennis R. Lansdowne, Class of 1981
Partner, Spangenberg, Shibley & Liber LLP

Kenneth B. Liffman, Class of 1979
President and Chairman of the Board, McCarthy, Lebit, Crystal & Liffman Co., LPA

Howard D. Mishkind, Class of 1980
Partner, Mishkind Kulwicki Law Co., LPA

Dean Lizabeth A. Moody
Dean Emerita, Stetson University College of Law
Former Professor of Law and Interim Dean, Cleveland-Marshall College of Law

Sandra M. Natran
Administrative Coordinator (Retired), Cleveland-Marshall College of Law

Judge Donald C. Nugent, Class of 1974
Judge, United States District Court for the Northern District of Ohio

Richard W. Pogue
Senior Advisor & Former Managing Partner, Jones Day

Richard T. Reminger, Sr., Class of 1957
Founder & Managing Partner and Chief Executive Officer (Retired), Reminger Co., LPA

Kenneth C. Ricci, Class of 1986
Principal, Directional Aviation Capital

Professor Emeritus Alan Miles Ruben
Professor of Law (Retired), Cleveland-Marshall College of Law

Judge John J. Russo, Class of 1992
Administrative and Presiding Judge, Cuyahoga County Common Pleas Court

Dean Emeritus Steven H. Steinglass
Dean Emeritus and Professor of Law Emeritus, Cleveland-Marshall College of Law

Judge Joan Synenberg, Class of 1987
Judge, Cuyahoga County Common Pleas Court

Donna Zapis Thomas, Class of 1987
Co-Founder & Managing General Partner, Rockport Retirement Community

James A. Thomas, Class of 1963
Chairman and CEO, Thomas Properties Group, LLC

Marilyn Tobocman, Class of 1983 (deceased)
Principal Attorney/Senior Litigator, Ohio Attorney General’s Office Civil Rights Section

Dean Frederic P. White, Jr.
Dean Emeritus, Texas Wesleyan University School of Law
Dean Emeritus and Professor of Law, Golden Gate University School of Law
Former Associate Dean and Professor of Law, Cleveland-Marshall College of Law

Iris S. Wolstein
CEO, Heritage Development Company LLC

Leonard D. Young, Class of 1974
Founder & President, Leonard D. Young Co., LLC

Three inductees from the 2017 C|M|LAW Hall of Fame Class will accept their honor at the 2018 Induction Celebration

Congresswoman Marcia L. Fudge, Class of 1983
Member, U.S. House of Representatives, Ohio’s 11th Congressional District

Mayor Frank G. Jackson, Class of 1983
Mayor, City of Cleveland

Daniel R. McCarthy, Sr., Class of 1954 (deceased)
Founder & Senior Partner, McCarthy, Lebit, Crystal & Liffman Co., LPA