News & Announcements

Cleveland State University Department of Theatre and Dance Presents Sondheim Musical COMPANY

Cleveland State University’s Department of Theatre and Dance, a Resident Company of Playhouse Square, will open the Theatre season with the Stephen Sondheim musical, COMPANY.

Running October 26 – November 5, 2017, this honest look at modern adult relationships is directed by CSU Associate Professor Russ Borski, and is considered a trailblazer, having won seven Tony Awards.

Shows run on the Allen Theatre Mainstage Thursdays through Saturdays at 7:30 p.m., and Saturdays and Sundays at 2 p.m. Tickets are available by calling 216.241.6000, visiting, or at the State Theatre Ticket Office, located at 1519 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44115. Tickets are also available 60-minutes prior to performances at the Allen Theatre Complex.

A special public ASL Performance will be presented on Thursday, November 2 with ticket code ASL.

Two $25.00 Dinner and a Show Nights will be offered in partnership with Elements Bistro on Euclid and available on Fridays, October 27 and November 3 by pre-reservation only by using ticket code DIN.

“The cast consists of 18 students within the Music, and the Theatre and Dance Departments, as well as six pit musicians. Sondheim’s classic musical paints a wide canvas of those who can commit to love and those who are continually searching,” says director Borski.


On the night of his 35th birthday, confirmed bachelor, Robert, contemplates his unmarried state. Over the course of a series of events, the habitually single Robert is forced to question his adamant retention of bachelorhood during a hilarious array of interactions.


Cheyenne Bizon (JOANNE), Sarah Blubaugh (AMY), Machala Comenschek (JENNY), Chace Coulter (LARRY), Antonio DeJesus (PAUL), Bridgette Dona (KATHY), Alexa Fatheringham (MARTA), Rebekah Ferro (The VOCAL MINORITY), Mary Gilchrist (The VOCAL MINORITY), Frank Ivancic (ROBERT), Malik Jones (PETER), Steven Livingston (HARRY), Brooke Myers (SUSAN), Jylian Purtee (The VOCAL MINORITY), Elizabeth Samsa (APRIL), Jamie K. Satterfield (The VOCAL MINORITY), Elizabeth Stewart (SARAH), and Eric Wloszek (DAVID).