News & Announcements

Bringing New Ideas to Light

CSU hosts 3rd annual IdeaVikes competition

Idea VikesCleveland State University will host its third annual IdeaVikes competition March 29. The campus-wide idea competition for undergraduate students invites participants to pitch a business, product, app or other idea for a chance to win seed funding and represent CSU at the regional ideaLabs competition, hosted by the Entrepreneurship Education Consortium on April 5th.

Students can register as individuals or in teams of up to 5 students. The idea or concept must be new and must have been developed during the 2017-2018 academic year. Students should register their idea online by 5:00 PM on Wednesday, March 28, 2018 and will have the opportunity to pitch to a team of judges on Thursday, March 29, 2018 from 11:30 AM to 1:30 PM in the Monte Ahuja College of Business, Room 308.

Each entrant/team will have a designated amount of time to pitch their idea followed by a question and answer session from the panel of judges. The winner will then go on to represent CSU at ideaLabs 2018 which will be held from 4:00 PM to 8:00 PM in the Bonda Board Room (UR 254) within the Maxine Goodman Levin College of Urban Affairs on the CSU campus.

Learn more here.

The EEC was formed by seven entrepreneurship directors from seven Northeast Ohio Universities to collaborate on a regional effort to pool their resources and expertise. The purpose of the EEC is to provide practical “experiential” and theoretical education to students in Northeast Ohio to prepare them to become entrepreneurs or intrapreneurs; create new ventures and jobs and build wealth for the region. The EEC was founded to promote both the concept and the reality of entrepreneurship among college students of all disciplines. Beyond imparting the necessary classroom fundamentals, it encourages student exploration of new business concepts.

Where feasible, the EEC will facilitate fully developed business planning up to the interface for project funding which leads to actual startup of new enterprises. The Consortium was initiated with a grant from the Burton Morgan Foundation. Member organizations include: Ashland University, Baldwin Wallace University, Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland State University, Hiram College, John Carroll University, Kent State University, Lake Erie College, Lorain County Community College, University of Akron and University of Mount Union.