Faculty and Staff

Levin College Faculty

faculty header.jpg

The Levin College employs more than full-time faculty, as well as additional staff instructors and joint-appointed faculty members. Click on a faculty member's name to view biographical information.

LEVIN COLLEGE FACULTY

Roland V. Anglin
Dean and Professor
Ph.D. (Political Science), University of Chicago
Concentrations: Economic and Community Development

r.anglin@csuohio.edu

Jeffrey M. Bowen
College Lecturer in Organizational Leadership
MNO, Case Western Reserve University
Certified Fund Raising Executive (CFRE)
Concentrations:  Nonprofit Management, Organizational Leadership, Fundraising, Public Relations, Governance & Trusteeship
j.m.bowen@csuohio.edu

William M. Bowen
Professor
Director, Ph.D. program

Ph.D. (Regional Analysis and Planning), Indiana University at Bloomington
Concentrations: Decision Science and Computer Applications, Economic Development, Environmental Issues
w.bowen@csuohio.edu

Ronnie Dunn
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (Urban Studies), Cleveland State University
Concentrations: Urban Sociology, Racial and Social Justice, Crime and The Criminal Justice System
r.dunn@csuohio.edu

Joanna P. Ganning
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. (Regional Planning), University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Concentrations: Economic development, GIS, shrinking/legacy cities, econometrics
j.ganning@csuohio.edu

Robert (Bob) Gleeson 
Associate Dean, Professor, and Albert A. Levin Chair of Urban Studies and Public Service 
Ph.D. (History and Public Affairs), Carnegie Mellon University
r.gleeson@csuohio.edu

Tatyana Guzman
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. (Public Affairs), Indiana University, School of Public and Environmental Affairs (SPEA)
Concentrations: Public Finance and Policy Analysis, Education Policy Studies
t.guzman@csuohio.edu

Megan Hatch
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. (Public Policy and Administration), George Washington University
Teaching Focus: Urban Policy and City Management
Concentrations: Social Policy, Inequality, Rental Housing
m.e.hatch@csuohio.edu


Sanda Kaufman
Professor
Director, Master of Environmental Studies program

Ph.D. (Public Policy Analysis), Carnegie Mellon University
Concentrations: Decision Making in Conflict Management, Environmental Issues
s.kaufman@csuohio.edu
http://cua6.urban.csuohio.edu/~sanda
 

Wendy A. Kellogg
Chair, Department of Urban Studies and Professor 
Ph.D. (City and Regional Planning), Cornell University
Concentrations: Environmental Planning and Policy, Urban Planning, Watershed Governance
w.kellogg@csuohio.edu

Deirdre Mageean
Professor
d.mageean@csuohio.edu

Joseph Mead
Assistant Professor 
Director, Nonprofit Administration and Leadership program

J.D. (Law), University of Michigan
Teaching Focus: Nonprofit Management and Public Administration
j.mead@csuohio.edu

Brian A. Mikelbank
Associate Professor
Director, Master of Science in Urban Studies program

Ph.D. (Geography), Ohio State University
Concentrations: Urban Geography, Housing Markets, and Regional Analysis
b.mikelbank@csuohio.edu


Beth Nagy
College Lecturer in Urban Planning Practice
Ed.D. (Urban Educational Leadership), University of Cincinnati
Concentrations: Physical Planning, Urban Studies, GIS
b.a.nagy1@csuohio.edu

Obed Pasha
Assistant Professor


Meghan Rubado
Assistant Professor in Public Administration/City Management
Ph.D. (Political Science), Temple University
Concentrations: Urban Policy and Politics, Collaborative Governance, Environmental Issues
m.rubado@csuohio.edu

Stephanie Ryberg-Webster
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (City and Regional Planning), University of Pennsylvania
Concentrations: Urban Planning, Historic Preservation, Community Development, and Neighborhood Revitalization
s.ryberg@csuohio.edu

Robert A. Simons
Professor
Ph.D. (City and Regional Planning), University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Concentrations: Environmental Real Estate Economics, Planning
r.simons@csuohio.edu


Jeffrey Snyder
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. (Educational Policy), Michigan State University
Teaching Focus: Public Policy and Research Methods
Concentrations: K-12 Education Policy, Governance, and Politics
j.w.snyder3@csuohio.edu

Jenna Tighe (Rosie)
Assistant Professor
Ph.D. (Community and Regional Planning), University of Texas at Austin
Teaching Focus: Community and Neighborhood Development
Concentrations: Housing Policy, Race, Ethnicity, and Neighborhood Revitalization
j.l.tighe@csuohio.edu

Winifred Weizer
College Associate Lecturer
Director, Undergraduate Programs

MPA, Cleveland State University
w.weizer@csuohio.edu


Clayton Wukich
Associate Professor

Nicholas Zingale
Associate Professor
Director, Master of Public Administration program

Ph.D. (Public Administration), University of Akron
Concentrations: Public Management and Sustainability, Environmental Studies, Organizational Theory and Behavior
n.zingale@csuohio.edu

 

EMERITUS FACULTY

Virginia O. Benson (Emerita)
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (Geography), Kent State University
Concentrations: Land Development, Waterfronts, Historic Preservation
v.benson@csuohio.edu

Edward W. Hill (Emeritus)
Professor and Former Dean
Ph.D. (Economics, Urban and Regional Planning), Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 1981
Concentrations: Public Policy and Education Reform, Regional Labor Markets, Economic Development Banking
hill.1973@osu.edu


Mittie Davis Jones (Emerita)
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (Political Science), Wayne State University
Concentrations: Program Evaluation, Public Policy Analysis, Urban Politics, Parent Empowerment, Children and Families
m.d.jones97@csuohio.edu

W. Dennis Keating (Emeritus)
Professor
Distinguished Scholar Community Development
Ph.D. (City and Regional Planning), University of California at Berkeley
J.D., University of Pennsylvania Law School
Concentrations: Housing Policy, Urban Policy, Land Use Law, Neighborhood Planning
w.keating@csuohio.edu

Lawrence F. Keller (Emeritus)
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (Public Administration), American University
Concentrations: Public Policy and Public Administration
l.keller@csuohio.edu

Norman Krumholz (Emeritus)
Professor
M.C.R.P., Cornell University
Concentrations: Equity Planning, Community Development
n.krumholz@csuohio.edu

Larry C. Ledebur (Emeritus)
Professor
Senior Fellow in Urban Center

Editor, Economic Development Quarterly
Ph.D. (Economics), Florida State University
Concentrations: Economic Development, Urban Economics
l.ledebur@csuohio.edu


Helen Liggett (Emerita)
Professor
Ph.D. (Political Science), University of Hawaii
Concentrations: Urban Theory, Discourse Analysis and Visual Culture and Photography
h.liggett@csuohio.edu

Nancy Meyer-Emerick (Emerita)
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (Public Administration), Florida Atlantic University
Concentrations: Democratic Governance, Organizational Behavior, Emergency Preparedness, Environmental Health
n.meyeremerick@csuohio.edu
 

Sylvester Murray (Emeritus)
Professor
M.G.A., University of Pennsylvania; M.A. Eastern Michigan University
Concentrations: Urban Administration and Management
s.murray@csuohio.edu


Michael W. Spicer (Emeritus)
Professor
Ph.D. (Public Administration), Ohio State University
Concentrations: Tax Compliance, Public Economies
m.spicer@csuohio.edu

Roberta Steinbacher (Emerita)
Professor 
Ph.D. (Social Psychology), St. Louis University
Concentrations: Social Policy, Gender/Sex Selection
r.steinbacher@csuohio.edu

Camilla Stivers (Emerita)
Professor and Distinguished Scholar
Ph.D. (Public Administration and Policy), Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Concentrations: Public Administration Theory, Feminist Theory, Non-Profit Management
c.stivers@csuohio.edu

Michael Tevesz (Emeritus)
Professor
Senior Fellow in Urban Center
Special Assistant for Cultural Partnerships
Ph.D. Yale University
Concentrations: Geology for Urban Planners, Roles of Houses of Worship in Urban Neighborhoods
m.tevesz@csuohio.edu

Michael Wells (Emeritus)
Associate Professor
Ph.D. (American History), Ohio State University
Concentrations: Historic Preservation, Sacred Landmarks
m.wells@csuohio.edu

 

JOINT APPOINTED FACULTY

Michael Gates
Professor
Ph.D., University of Toronto
m.gates@csuohio.edu

Miron Kaufman
Professor, Physics and Urban Studies
Ph.D. (Physics), Carnegie Mellon University
Concentrations: Quantitative Methods
m.kaufman@csuohio.edu

Heidi Gorovitz Robertson
Professor of Environmental Studies, Director (Law) J.D./M.A. Environmental Studies Dual Degree Program
J.D. University of Wisconsin 
LL.M and J.S.D. Columbia University
Concentrations: Environmental Law, Regulation, Property Law, Urban Environmental Issues
h.robertson@csuohio.edu

Alan Weinstein
Associate Professor and Director, J.D./MPA and J.D./MUPD Dual Degree Programs
J.D. , University of California at Berkeley ; M.C.P. Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Concentrations: Land Use Law, Administrative Law, Environmental Policy
a.weinstein@csuohio.edu

 

LEVIN COLLEGE STAFF INSTRUCTORS
Jim Kastelic
Instructor
j.m.kastelic@csuohio.edu

Steven A. Minter
Senior Fellow, Center for Nonprofit Policy and Practice
M.S. (Social Administration), Case Western Reserve University
Teaching Focus: Nonprofit Management
s.minter@csuohio.edu

Mark Salling 
Director, Northern Ohio Data & Information Service and Urban Fellow
Ph.D. (Geography), Kent State University
Teaching Focus: Urban Geography, Research Methods, GIS, Demography
m.salling@csuohio.edu

Patrick Sweeney
Special Assistant, Special Projects
MPA, Harvard University; Honorary Doctor of Law, Cleveland State University
p.sweeney@csuohio.edu