Welcome to the Levin College of Urban Affairs

Levin College Calendar of Events Archive: 2017

Levin College
See below for a list of past events hosted or sponsored by the Maxine Goodman Levin College of Urban Affairs. 
To keep up to date with College activites, see Levin College's News of the Week. To view all events taking place at Levin College view the Master Events Calendar (via Booked). For a schedule of major Forum events visit the Forum page. For gallery exhibit information see the the Thomas F. Campbell, Ph.D. Exhibition Gallery. For In Tribute events see the In Tribute to the Public Service page. See this page for information about the Columbus SeminarTo view current information see the Calendar of Events.

"Click here to view past events on other calendar archive pages."


December 2017

Friday, December 1, 2017: In Service: Saving the World - A luncheon panel discussion moderated by Dean Roland Anglin - Learn more. »

Wednesday, December 6, 2017: Ph.D. Brown Bag Seminar Series - What To Do After the Ph.D.? / Recent Levin Graduates (12:00pm-1:00pm in UR 326)

Friday, December 8, 2017Last Day of Classes, Fall Semester

Monday, December 11, 2017 - Saturday, December 16, 2017: Final Exams

Sunday, December 17, 2017: Commencement

November 2017

Wednesday, November 1, 2017: Levin College Forum Event: The Urban Forest in America's Cities: Connecting People and Nature Featuring Author Jill Jonnes - Learn more. »

Tuesday, November 7, 2017: Levin College Forum Event: Elections Have Consequences: Why Policy Matters for our Students and Community - Learn more. »

Friday, November 10, 2017: Veterans Day (Offices/University Closed - No Classes)

Saturday, November 11, 2017: National Forum for Black Public Administrators' "Evolve. Lead. Inspire: A Taste of Forum 2018" - Learn more. & Register here. »

Wednesday, November 15, 2017The Making of Modern Atlanta Featuring Andrea Young  - Learn more. »

Wednesday, November 15, 2017: Ph.D. Brown Bag Seminar Series - Is the Post Great Recession Economy Labor Inclusive? (12:00pm-1:00pm in UR 326)

Wednesday, November 15, 2017Town Hall Meeting 1: Cleveland Next - The Legacy of Carl Stokes (11:00am-12:30pm) - Learn more. »

Wednesday, November 15, 2017Town Hall Meeting 2: Cleveland Next - The Legacy of Carl Stokes (6:00pm-8:00pm) - Learn more. »

Thursday, November 16, 2017: Speed Mentoring Workshop - Learn more. »

Thursday, November 23, 2017 - Sunday, November 26, 2017: Thanksgiving Recess (Offices/University Closed - No Classes)

Wednesday, November 29, 2017: Ph.D. Brown Bag Seminar Series - Reference and File Management: Quick Introduction to Zotero and Critical Perspectives in Urban Studies (12:00pm-1:00pm in UR 326)

Thursday, November 30, 2017: ICMA and APA OH's Resume Review (11:00am-12:00pm in Bonda Room UR 254)

October 2017

Tuesday, October 3, 2017, 5:00 pm: ICMA student chapter meeting with MPA alumnus Robert Fowler.

Wednesday, October 4, 2017: Alumni Panel and Mixer - Learn more. »

Thursday, October 5, 2017: First and Second Year Doctoral Student Orientation

Tuesday, October 10, 2017: Columbus Day (Offices Open/University Closed - No Classes)

Tuesday, October 10, 2017: In Tribute to the Public Service Scholarship and Award Event - Learn more. »

Tuesday, October 10, 2017: Cuyahoga County Micro-Grid Project Review Ohio Energy Storage Cluster Meeting - Learn more. »

Wednesday, October 11, 2017: Ph.D. Brown Bag Seminar Series - The Impact of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act on Clean Energy Innovation (12:00pm-1:00pm in UR 326)

Monday, October 16, 2017: CSU Parking Strategic Partnership Forum - Learn more. »

Thursday, October 19, 2017: Levin College Forum Event: Universities, Cities, and Urban Higher Education in America - Learn more. »

Monday, October 23, 2017: Levin College Open House - Learn more. »

Wednesday, October 25, 2017: Ph.D. Brown Bag Seminar Series - The Intersection of the Intersexual and Gender Policies in the Federal Workplace (12:00pm-1:00pm in UR 326)

Wednesday, October 25, 2017Government Career Day (a Levin College sponsored event) - Learn more. »

Wednesday, October 25, 2017Mentoring Program Dinner

Thursday, October 26, 2017: Levin College Forum Event: City Planning in Cleveland: Fifty Years Since Carl Stokes - Learn more. »

Thursday, October 26, 2017 - Sunday, October 29, 2017: SACRPH 17th National Conference on Planning History - Learn more. »

Thursday, October 26, 2017 - Saturday, May 19, 2018: Leadership Academy - Learn more. »

Friday, October 27, 2017: Ohio Fair Lending and Vital Communities Conference: Rebuilding the Community Learn more. »

September 2017

Monday, September 4, 2017: Labor Day (Offices/University Closed - No Classes)

Tuesday, September 12, 2017: Levin College Forum Event: Everyone Deserves to Live in an “Opportunity Neighborhood” - Learn more. »

Tuesday, September 12, 2017: Donuts with the Dean - Learn more. »

Wednesday, September 13, 2017: Dessert with the Dean - Learn more. » 

Wednesday, September 13, 2017: Brown Bag | What Happened in Housing at the Statehouse This Year? - Learn more. » 

Wednesday, September 20, 2017: Ph.D. Brown Bag Seminar Series - Welcome New Levin Faculty (12:00pm-1:00pm in UR 326)

Saturday, September 23, 2017: Levin College Day of Service at Providence House - Learn more. »

August 2017

Friday, August 11, 2017: Last Day of Classes, Summer 2017 2nd Six Week Session and Twelve Week Session
 
Monday, August 21 - Wednesday, August 23, 2017: ArcGIS Workshop - Learn more. »

Thursday, August 24, 2017: Fifth Annual Levin College Research Conference - Learn more. »
 
Friday, August 25, 2017: Cleveland Mayoral Debate Livestream - Learn more. »
 
Saturday, August 26, 2017: Fall 2017 Semester Begins
 
Monday, August 28, 2017: Fall Orientation and Open House - Learn more. »
 

July 2017

Saturday, July 1, 2017: Summer 2017 2nd Six Week Session Begins

Saturday, July 1 - July 31, 2017: Thomas F. Campbell, Ph.D. Exhibition Gallery: Beyond the Uniform: Visualizing Hope and Recovery through Art Therapy - Learn more. »

Tuesday, July 4, 2017: July 4th (Offices/University Closed - No Classes)

Friday, July 14, 2017: Last Day of Classes, Summer 2017 Eight Week Session

Wednesday, July 19, 2017: Exploring the Relationship Between Vacancy, Crime and Lead Exposure in Cleveland - Learn more. » 

Friday, July 28, 2017: Last Day of Classes, Summer 2017 Ten Week Session
 

June 2017

Thursday, June 15, 2017: Celebration for Professor Norman Krumholz - Learn more. »

Wednesday, June 21, 2017: The Role of Communities in Community Benefit Agreements - Learn more. »

Wednesday, June 28, 2017: African Scholars Seminar on Housing, 9:00am-12:00pm in Bonda Board Room 254

Thursday, June 29, 2017: African Scholars Seminar on Retail and Job Creation, 9:00am-12:00pm in Bonda Board Room 254
 
Friday, June 30, 2017: Last Day of Classes, Summer 2017 1st Six Week Session
 
Friday, June 30, 2017: African Scholars Seminar on Lead Abatement and Healthy Communities, 9:00am-12:00pm in Bonda Board Room 254

 

May 2017

Monday, May 1, 2017: Planning Studio Presentation: Geauga Lake: The Next 100 Years - Learn more. »

Friday, May 5, 2017: Last Day of Classes

Saturday, May 6 - Friday May, 12, 2017: Final Exams

Wednesday, May 10, 2017: Brown Bag Lunch - The Role of Code Enforcement in Rebuilding the Community. Noon - 2:00 p.m. in the Bonda Board Room (UR 254). - Learn more. »

Friday, May 12, 2017: Levin College Annual Student Recognition Ceremony - Learn more. »

Saturday, May 13, 2017: Commencement (Saturday)

Monday, May 15, 2017: Spring 2017 Real Estate Finance Competition - Learn more. »

Wednesday, May 17 - Friday, May 19, 2017: ArcGIS Workshop - Learn more. »

Saturday, May 20, 2017: Summer 2017 Session Begins (1st Six Week, Eight Week, Ten Week and Twelve Week Sessions all begin on this date)

Monday, May 29, 2017: Memorial Day (University Holiday)

 

April 2017

Wednesday, April 5, 2017: Brown Bag Lunch - Pivoting New Investment and Housing Rehab in the State of Ohio (12:00-2:00pm in the Sweet Seminar room - UR241)

Friday, April 7 - Saturday, April 8, 2017: CLE Housing Hackathon - Learn more. »

Wednesday, April 19, 2017: Levin College Brown Bag Lunch - “A New Demographic Reality: The Prevalence of Four-Generation Lineages and Implications” with Rongjun Sun, Associate Professor, the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences, Criminology Anthropology & Sociology. 11:30am to 12:30pm in Bonda Board Room 254
 
Wednesday, April 19, 2017: Mentoring Program End of the Year Dinner
 
Saturday, April 22, 2017: Levin College Day of Service - Learn more. »
 
Saturday, April 25, 2017: Public Finance in Jewish Law - Learn more. »

Tuesday, April 25, 2017: A Day in the Life of a Planner - Learn more. »
 
Wednesday, April 26, 2017: The End of US Interventionism - Learn more. »
 
Thursday, April 27, 2017: Local Money/Local Finance event - Learn more. »
 
Friday, April 28, 2017: Meeting the Challenges of Immigrant and Refugee Employment, 11:30am-1:00pm, Roberta Steinbacher Atrium
 

March 2017

Thursday, March 2, 2017, 4:00‐5:45pm: Meet the Mentors - Learn more. »
 
Wednesday, March 8, 2017: Brown Bag Lunch - A New Era for Cities? with Dean Roland Anglin and Councilman Matt Zone (Ward 15). Noon - 1:30 p.m. in the Bonda Board Room (UR 254).

Thursday, March 9, 2017: International Women's Week: 'Women in Power' - Learn more. »

Sunday, March 12 - Sunday March 19, 2017: Spring Recess

Monday, March 13, 2017: Forum Brown Bag Lunch - Recovering Lithuania’s Architectural Cultural Heritage: A Presentation from Lithuanian Architect Aurimas Širvys - Learn more. »  Note: This event has been cancelled.

Tuesday, March 14, 2017: Emergency Preparedness Forum -The American Fire Culture & Fireground Wake-Up Forum - Learn more. »
 
Friday, March 17, 2017: Wise Economic Decision Making: Implications from Nonprofit Research - Learn more. »

Wednesday, March 29, 2017, 4:00-6:00pm: Forum Event - Philanthropy and American Prosperity in the 21st Century - Learn more. »
 
Friday, March 31, 2017, 5:00-7:00pm: TEDxClevelandStateUniversity Presents The Resurgent City. Presenters include Dean Roland Anglin and Professor Ronnie Dunn - Learn more. »
 

February 2017

Saturday, February 11, 2017: Graduate Program Spring Open House Learn more. »

Wednesday, February 15, 2017: Cuyahoga County Housing Trends Brown Bag Lunch Program  - Learn more. »

Monday, February 20, 2017: President's Day (University Holiday)

Thursday, February 23, 2017: Levin College Brown Bag Lunch - “Unemployment, Social Isolation, and Deprivation: An Examination of Secondary Stressors and Health among Elderly Prisoners” with Meghan Novisky, Associate Professor, the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences, Criminology Anthropology & Sociology. Noon - 1:00 p.m. in Sweet Seminar Room 241

January 2017

Wednesday, January 11, 2017: Decision-Making and its Implications in the Workplace workshop

Wednesday, January 11 - Friday, January 13, 2017: Intro to ArcGIS I workshop Learn more. »

Saturday, January 14, 2017: Term Begins

Monday, January 16, 2017: Martin Luther King Day (University Holiday)

Friday, January 20, 2017: The Global Urban Ecosystem forum Learn more. »

Return to top of page.