Academics

SPRING 2017 SYLLABI

SideBuildingSyllabi are posted at the beginning of the semester (or earlier) and do not reflect any updates that might have occurred since then. Students enrolled in these courses should refer to the most recently updated syllabus, available from course instructors. To obtain a syllabus from a previous semester please contact Valerie Hicks (v.hicks@csuohio.edu).

Also see Columbus Seminar for other course information.



Spring 2017 Syllabi

UST 102 Professional Writing
Wells
Email: m.wells@csuohio.edu

UST 190 Analysis of Experiential Learning in Urban Affairs | Website
Galla
Email: k.galla@csuohio.edu

UST 200 Introduction to Urban Studies ONLINE
Nagy
Email: b.a.nagy1@csuohio.edu

UST 200 Section 1 Introduction to Urban Studies
Nagy
Email: b.a.nagy1@csuohio.edu

UST 202 Cleveland: The African American Experience
Yin
Email: j.s.yin@csuohio.edu

UST 202 Section 1 Cleveland: The African American Experience
Klein
Email: r.klein@csuohio.edu

UST 202 Section 502 The African American Experience
Slone
Email: Use Blackboard email.

UST 202 Section 503 The African American Experience
Slone
Email: Use Blackboard email.

UST 206 Section 1 Megacities of Asia
Mageean
Email: Use Blackboard email.

UST 206 Section 501 Megacities of Asia
Taylor
Email: c.j.taylor20@csuohio.edu

UST 206 Section 502 Megacities of Asia
Taylor
Email: c.j.taylor20@csuohio.edu

UST 206 Section 503 Megacities of Asia
Samanta
Email: Use Blackboard email.

UST 206 Section 504 Megacities of Asia
Schmidt
Email: Use Blackboard email.

UST 206 Section 505 Megacities of Asia
Samanta
Email: Use Blackboard email.

UST 250 The City in Film
Ryberg-Webster
Email: s.ryberg@csuohio.edu

UST 251 The African American Image in Film
Dunn
Email: r.dunn@csuohio.edu

UST 259 Natural History of Cleveland
Glanville
Email: j.glanville@csuohio.edu

UST 259 Section 471 Natural History of Cleveland
Taylor
Email: c.j.taylor20@csuohio.edu

UST 259 Section 001 Natural History of Cleveland
Donaldson
Email: d.l.donaldson@csuohio.edu

UST 259 Section 471 Natural History of Cleveland
Soltis
Email: g.s.soltis@csuohio.edu

UST 289 Physical Geography
Ruud
Email: r.rudd@csuohio.edu

UST 289 Section 1 Physical Geography
Weizer
Email: w.weizer@csuohio.edu

UST 290 Urban Geography
Morrison
Email: h.morrison55@csuohio.edu

UST 300 Section 50 Economics of Public Policy
Long
Email: m.f.long@csuohio.edu 

UST 301 Section 50 Urban Development
Taylor
Email: c.j.taylor20@csuohio.edu

UST 302 Advanced Policy Seminar
Tighe
Email: j.l.tighe@csuohio.edu

UST 302 Section 50 Contemporary Urban Issues
Keller
Email: Use Blackboard email.

UST 302 Section 51 Contemporary Urban Issues
Long
Email: m.f.long@csuohio.edu 

UST 302 Section 501 Contemporary Urban Issues
Dunn
Email: Use Blackboard email as primary method of contact (alternatively use r.dunn@csuohio.edu)

UST 302 Sections 504 Contemporary Urban Issues
Keating
Email: w.keating@csuohio.edu 

UST 302 Sections 505/549 Contemporary Urban Issues
Long
Email: m.f.long@csuohio.edu 

UST 404 Urban Data Analysis
Hatch
Email: m.e.hatch@csuohio.edu

UST 404 Urban Data Analysis
Keeney
Email: d.keeney@csuohio.edu

UST 404 Section 1 Urban Data Analysis
Weizer
Email: w.weizer@csuohio.edu

UST 404 Section 501 Urban Data Analysis
Weizer
Email: w.weizer@csuohio.edu

UST 405 Section 50 Methods of Research and Evaluation
Mageean
Email: d.mageean@csuohio.edu or use Blackboard email.

UST 405 Methods of Urban Research and Evaluation Section 750 and 751
Yin
Email: j.s.yin@csuohio.edu

UST 410 Section 50 Proposal Writing & Program Development
Rittenhouse
Email: Use Blackboard email.

UST 410 Section 501 Proposal Writing & Program Development
Rittenhouse
Email: Use Blackboard email.

UST 419 Section 50 Neighborhood Planning
Long
Email: m.f.long@csuohio.edu

UST 424/524 Distressed People/Distressed Places
Carroll
Email: m.carroll2@csuohio.edu

UST 429 Fire Prevention Organization and Management
Becker
Email: b.becker64@csuohio.edu

UST 431 Political and Legal Foundations of Fire Protection
Becker
Email: b.becker64@csuohio.edu

UST 433 Negotiation and Conflict Management
Joyce
Email: d.joyce85@csuohio.edu

UST 433 Negotiation and Conflict Management
Kaufman
Email: s.kaufman@csuohio.edu

UST 433/572 Negotiation and Conflict Management
Joyce
Email: d.joyce85@csuohio.edu

UST 436 Urban Sustainability
Davis
Email: p.l.davis11@csuohio.edu

UST 436 Urban Sustainability
Rubado
Email: m.rubado@csuohio.edu

UST 442/542 Environmental Finance and Capital Budgeting Section 50-4708-3539 / Syllabus Schedule
Mastrandrea
Email: m.mastrandrea@csuohio.edu

UST 451 Section 1 Fundraising and External Relations for Nonprofit Organizations
Bowen
Email: j.m.bowen@csuohio.edu

UST 452 Section 50 Management of Urban and Non-Profit Organizations
Brown 
Email: g.l.brown@csuohio.edu

UST 452 Section 51 Management of Urban and Nonprofit Organizations
Bowen
Email: j.m.bowen@csuohio.edu

UST 453/512 Managing Urban Diversity
Taylor
Email: t.taylor1@csuohio.edu

UST 453/750-751 Managing Urban Diversity
Paquet
Email: m.paquet@csuohio.edu

UST 455 Gender and Leadership
Hogan
Email: e.f.hogan@csuohio.edu

UST 456 Section 50 & 751 Fundamentals of Nonprofit Administration and Leadership
Bowen
Email: j.m.bowen@csuohio.edu

UST 458 Section 501 Urban Policy
Lanzo
Email: Use Blackboard email

UST 458 Section 502 Urban Policy 
Jones
Email: Use Blackboard Email.

UST 473/573 The Columbus Seminar
Sweeney and Mead
Email: patrickasweeney@aol.com and j.mead@csuohio.edu

UST 478/578 Contemporary Issues in Historic Preservation
Crowther
Email: k.crowther@csuohio.edu

UST 480/580 Conservation Techniques for Historic Preservation
Frost
Email: j.g.frost17@csuohio.edu

UST 485/585 GIS Principles/Foundations
Nagy
Email: b.a.nagy1@csuohio.edu

UST 487 GIS Applications
Nagy
Email: b.a.nagy1@csuohio.edu

UST 489 Advanced Policy Seminar
Tighe
Email: j.l.tighe@csuohio.edu

UST 490 Urban Internship
Thomas
Email: m.e.thomas12@csuohio.edu

UST 493/593 Israel Faculty-Led Study Abroad: Company Tour of Israel 
Simons & Dickinson
Email: r.simons@csuohio.educ.m.dickinson@csuohio.edu

UST 494/594 Public Policy and Business Strategy
Gleeson
Email: r.gleeson@csuohio.edu

UST 504 Fundamentals of Applied Reasoning
Keeney
Email: d.keeney@csuohio.edu

UST 510 Section 501 Proposal Writing
Bowen
Email: j.m.bowen@csuohio.edu

UST 515/600 Introduction to Public Administration
Hatch
Email: m.e.hatch@csuohio.edu

UST 587 GIS Applications
Ganning
Email: j.ganning@csuohio.edu

UST 601 Applied Quantitative Reasoning I
Rubado
Email: m.rubado@csuohio.edu

UST 603 Public Finance and Economics
Spicer
Email: m.spicer@csuohio.edu

UST 604 Section 50 Organizational Behavior
Thomas
Email: m.e.thomas12@csuohio.edu

UST 608 Urban Design Seminar
Soltis
Email: g.s.soltis@csuohio.edu

UST 609 Planning Law / LAW 608, C/D Land Use Control
Weinstein
Email: a.weinstein@csuohio.edu

UST 611 Planning Studio
Kellogg & Kastelic
Email: Use Blackboard email & j.m.kastelic@csuohio.edu

UST 616/716 Systems and Processes of Policy Development
Snyder
Email: j.w.snyder3@csuohio.edu

UST 619 Seminar in City Management
Briley
Email: tanishabriley@hotmail.com

UST 623 Urban Development Finance
Simons
Email: r.simons@csuohio.edu

UST 629 Economic Development Finance
Udris
Email: a.udris@csuohio.edu

UST 630 Section 50 Public Human Resource Management
Hawes
Email: m.hawes@csuohio.edu

UST 631/731 Law and Public Administration
Mead
Email: j.mead@csuohio.edu

UST 651 Fundraising and Revenue Generation
Young
Email: d.r.young22@csuohio.edu

UST 656 Advanced Topics in Nonprofit Management Practice
Young
Email: d.r.young22@csuohio.edu