Student Affairs

Diversity Council

Diversity Council
For more information, visit the Diversity Council at:

The Diversity Council's mission is to create a Student Affairs Division with an atmosphere of inclusion for all so that diverse students and staff experience being welcomed, respected, and supported. We identify areas for needed change and guide the Division toward more cultural awareness and inclusive practices. We demonstrate our commitment to inclusive excellence by being open to new growth and striving toward true cultural humility. 


  • Chief Gary Lewis - CSU PD (external staff)
  • Abed Tayyara - Chair, Middle Eastern Studies (faculty)
  • Jeffrey Dell - Office of Disability Services
  • Elaine Suarez - Career Services
  • Trina Jones - Student Affairs
  • Jessica Colombi - Career Services
  • Katharine Oh (Chair) - Counseling Center
  • Beauxerykah (Erykah) Betterson - Environmental Studies/Urban Studies Major (undergrad)
  • E. Alex Goebel - GA for LGBTQ Student Engagement (grad)
  • Thomas Collins - 411 Director (external staff)