## Statement of the IUC Presidents

The Inter-University Council of Ohio Presidents make the following statement regarding the recent violent and brutal death of George Floyd in Minneapolis.

The IUC Presidents were horrified and disgusted by the brutality demonstrated by individuals within the Minneapolis Police Department that resulted in the death of George Floyd. Our hearts ache for the family of Mr. Floyd. We recognize the legitimate anger by people of all races, but particularly Black Americans who have experienced systemic hatred, racism, and bigotry for too long.

We pledge to engage our communities in serious action and redouble our efforts to end abuse, discrimination, and racial inequality.

We support Governor DeWine's statement that: "We have an obligation to be a positive voice in advancing change for all those who are marginalized. We have an obligation to create equity in health, education, economic opportunity for all our citizens."

As a group of higher education leaders, we value the role of education and dialogue to help create lasting change. We also recognize our important role in educating citizens and future leaders.

We pledge to work with Governor DeWine and leaders of Ohio, and our communities, to take action so that our legacy of bigotry and inequality no longer infect our communities and institutions.



10 West Broad Street, Suite 450 Columbus, Ohio 43215-7415 (614) 464-1266 fax (614) 464-9281 www.iuc-ohio.org

Cay L. Mille

President Gary L. Miller The University of Akron

Paridon Baday K. Bagan

President Rodney K. Rogers Bowling Green State University

Ceynthia Jackson Hammond

President Cynthia Jackson-Hammond Central State University

President Neville G. Pinto University of Cincinnati

Deile C

HM Sands

President Harlan M. Sands Cleveland State University

President Todd Diacon Kent State University

President Gregory P. Crawford Miami University

President John T. Langell Northeast Ohio Medical University President Michael V. Drake The Ohio State University

President M. Duane Nellis Ohio University

M. Quane // Elles

President Jeffrey A. Bauer Shawnee State University

prey a. Bauer

She J. Jaken

President Sharon L. Gaber University of Toledo

Glustob.

President Susan Edwards Wright State University

President James P. Tressel Youngstown State University

Fames P. TRESSEL

President Bruce Johnson Inter-University Council of Ohio