

BOARD OF TRUSTEES CLEVELAND STATE UNIVERSITY

MINUTES OF THE MEETING

BOARD OF TRUSTEES SPECIAL MEETING

DATE: Thursday, August 24, 2023, 8:00 a.m.

PLACE: 400 Sawmill Creek Drive, Huron, Ohio 44839.

PRESENT:Chair David M. Reynolds; Trustees Nikki C. Byrd, Timothy J.
Cosgrove, Patricia DePompei, Lisa K. Kunkle, Alan G. Starkoff, P.
Kelly Tompkins, and Vanessa L. Whiting; Ex Officio Trustee Karen
A. White; President Laura Bloomberg; and Secretary to the Board
of Trustees, General Counsel and Vice President, Legal Affairs and
Compliance Sonali B. Wilson.

Others in attendance: Amy Morgenstern, Mainstream Enterprises Inc.; Provost and Sr. Vice President of Academic Affairs Nigamanth Sridhar; Sr. Vice President of Business Affairs and Chief Financial Officer David Jewell; Vice President and Dean of Enrollment Management Jonathan Wehner; Vice President, Chief Marketing and Communications Officer Roy Gifford; Vice President of Advancement Julie Rehm; Athletic Director Scott Garrett; Presidential Faculty Fellow Tachelle Banks; Vice President for Research Meredith Bond; Executive Director, Government Affairs Caryn Candisky, Vice President Campus Engagement, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Phillip Cockrell; Chief of Staff Patricia L. Franklin; and Heather A. Link, Assistant Board Secretary.

Chair Reynolds called the special meeting to order at 8:34 a.m. and confirmed that a quorum was present.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chair Reynolds moved for the Board to recess into Executive Session to discuss personnel matters involving the contracts, employment, and compensation of public employees; to discuss collective bargaining matters; and to discuss trade secret information required by law to be kept confidential. Trustee Tompkins seconded the motion.

A roll call vote was taken by the Secretary of the Board; voting in the affirmative were Ms. Byrd, Mr. Cosgrove, Ms. DePompei, Ms. Kunkle, Mr. Starkoff, Mr. Tompkins, Ms. Whiting, and Mr. Reynolds. The motion carried.

Chair Reynolds excused everyone except the voting trustees, President Bloomberg, ex officio Trustee White, Ms. Morgenstern, Provost Sridhar; SVP Jewell; VP Wehner; VP Gifford; VP Rehm; VP Garrett; Presidential Faculty Fellow Banks; VP Bond; Executive Director, Government Affairs Candisky, VP Cockrell; Chief of Staff Franklin;, Assistant Board Secretary Link, and General Counsel and Board Secretary Wilson. The executive session began at 8:35 a.m.

At 4:00 p.m., Chair Reynolds announced that the Board had finished its business in Executive Session and was returning to its regular meeting.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, Chair Reynolds adjourned the meeting at 4:01 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

APPROVED ON SEPTEMBER 21, 2023

Sonali B. Wilson Vice President of Legal Affairs and Compliance, General Counsel and Board Secretary

APPROVED ON SEPTEMBER 21, 2023

David M. Reynolds Chairman, Board of Trustees