

MEMORANDUM

ГО:	CSU Faculty Jianping Zhu, Interim Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs
FROM:	Jianping Zhu, Interim Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs
DATE:	March 22, 2016
SUBJECT:	2016 Distinguished Faculty Teaching, Research and Service Awards

Attached are guidelines for the 2016 program of Distinguished Faculty Teaching, Research and Service awards developed by the CSU Faculty Senate. Two awards of \$2,000 each may be given for each category. Please note that the University Faculty Affairs Committee has determined that eligibility is limited to tenured members of the faculty, including department chairpersons/school directors, who are eligible for election to Faculty Senate.

Please be aware that the Selection Committee will also select one recipient for the Dr. Jennie S. Hwang Award for Faculty Excellence from among those chosen for the Distinguished Teaching, Research, and Service Awards. The selection will be based on exceptional merit in teaching, research, and service that distinguishes the one recipient as contributing most significantly to Cleveland State University. The selected faculty member will received an additional cash award of \$3,000 and broad recognition.

A nomination form is attached. I am inviting your nominations for these various awards. All nominations must be received in the Faculty Senate Office (MC 320) by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, April 15, 2016.

The Selection Committee will announce the final selections by mid-May 2016. Winners will be recognized at an appropriate ceremony in Fall Semester 2016.

Selection Committee Members:

John Jeziorowski (Health Sciences), Chairperson Ronald Abate (Teacher Education) Jorge Gatica (Chemical and Biomedical Engineering) Joanne Goodell (Teacher Education) Brian Harper (Curriculum/Foundations) Holly Holsinger (Theatre & Dance) Christopher Sagers (Law) Emily Halasah (Undergraduate Student, SGA) Nick Downer (Graduate Student, SGA)

Attachments

cc: College Deans Violet E. Lunder, Faculty Senate

DISTINGUISHED FACULTY TEACHING, RESEARCH, AND SERVICE AWARDS

Guidelines

Eligibility: All regular, full-time tenured faculty members of Cleveland State University (including department chairpersons) are eligible for nomination for the Distinguished Teaching, Distinguished Research, and Distinguished Service Awards except for those who are serving on the Distinguished Faculty Selection Committee. Two awards of \$2,000 each may be given for each category. Candidates for the awards must be tenured faculty members.

Criteria for Nomination: The distinguished teaching awards are intended to honor those whose teaching at Cleveland State is recognized as exceptionally strong; the distinguished research awards are intended to honor those whose research or creative work has been recognized in the scholarly or creative community as exceptional; the distinguished service awards are intended to honor those whose service within and/or outside the University has been exceptional. In all cases, the candidate should have made an acceptable overall contribution to Cleveland State University as well as an exceptional one in teaching or research or service.

The Dr. Jennie S. Hwang Award for Faculty Excellence: Established in 2003, the Hwang Award recognizes one recipient from among those chosen for the annual Teaching, Research, and Service Awards. The selection will be based on exceptional merit in teaching, research, and service that distinguishes the one recipient as contributing most significantly to Cleveland State University. The selected faculty member will receive an additional cash award of \$3,000 and broad recognition.

Distinguished Faculty Selection Committee: The Selection Committee for the Distinguished Faculty Teaching, Research, and Service Awards shall consist of seven faculty members appointed by the Academic Steering Committee of Faculty Senate and two students appointed by the Student Appointment Board. The Chair of the Selection Committee shall be appointed from among the faculty members by the Academic Steering Committee. The Selection Committee should include representatives of various disciplines and research traditions.

Procedure for Nomination:

- Any member of the regular full-time faculty of Cleveland State University who is not currently serving on the Distinguished Faculty Selection Committee, including Department Chairs and College Deans, may nominate a candidate for a Distinguished Teaching, Research, or Service Award. Self-nomination is not permitted.
- 2. Each nomination is to be accompanied by a supporting testimonial from the nominator and a current curriculum vitae of the candidate.
- 3. The University Faculty Affairs Committee points out that an effective nomination package should contain documentation to demonstrate distinguished research, teaching, and/or service (such as documentation of teaching effectiveness, reviews of published materials in significant journals, additional testimonials from students, other faculty colleagues, the Department Chair, etc.). For the Distinguished Teaching Award, teaching effectiveness and teaching contributions must be thoroughly documented in the nomination packet.
- 4. No faculty member may nominate more than one candidate for the awards. A faculty member may, however, contribute a supporting testimonial to any number of candidates as long as he or she is not the principal nominator.

NOMINATION FOR THE DISTINGUISHED FACULTY AWARDS, 2016

Name:(Please Write/Print Legibly)	Rank:
Department:	Tenured: 🗆 YES 🗖 NO
College:	
Select One Distinguished Faculty Award:	arch Service
Nominated by:	Date:
Title:	
Department:	
College:	
SUPPORTING TESTIMONIAL:1	

¹Use additional sheets if needed. Please consult the guidelines for proper content and form. Completed nomination forms, together with a current curriculum vitae of the nominee and supporting materials, must be received by the Faculty Senate Office (MC 320) by 5:00 p.m. on Friday, April 15, 2016.