Psychology

Student Organization

Student Organizations at CSU:

Psi Chi is the National Honor Society in Psychology, founded in 1929 for the purposes of encouraging, stimulating, and maintaining excellence in scholarship, and advancing the science of psychology. Membership is open to graduate and undergraduate men and women with a declared psychology major or minor and who have completed at least 3 semesters of full-time college coursework. Undergraduate students must also have a minimum 3.0 grade point average (GPA) and have earned a cumulative GPA that is in the top 35% of their graduating class. Interested students should complete a PDF iconPsi Chi membership application (Applications must be submitted by March 15, 2019) and return it to Dr. Liz Goncy, the faculty adviser. If qualified, students will then complete the online international application and pay a one-time lifetime membership fee. Psi Chi is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies and is an affiliate of the American Psychological Association (APA) and the American Psychological Society (APS). 

2018-2019 Officers: 

President: Elizabeth McDermott, e.a.mcdermott@vikes.csuohio.edu 
Vice President: Evan Basting, e.basting@vikes.csuohio.edu 
Secretary: Noelle Naser, n.naser@vikes.csuohio.edu
Treasurer: Ernest Oleksy, e.m.oleksy@vikes.csuohio.edu 
Media Specialist: Erin Meyer, e.meyer42@vikes.csuohio.edu 
 

The Psychology Club is an all-inclusive psychology organization committed to engaging its members and the university’s Psychology Department in meaningful experiences related to the discipline. Membership is open to graduate and undergraduate students with an interest in psychology. Prospective members do not need to be pursuing a degree in psychology. Members of the Psych Club will learn about the different subdisciplines of psychology to better prepare them to explore the many opportunities that the field has to offer. In addition, the Psych Club provides information and resources pertaining to research engagement, graduate school preparation, conference participation, undergraduate involvement, podcast interviews, and other activities and opportunities that are related to psychology.

2018-2019 Officers:

President: Ernest Oleksy, e.m.oleksy@vikes.csuohio.edu
Vice President: Madhwa Galgali, m.galgali@vikes.csuohio.edu
Secretary: Rachel Fosnaught, r.fosnaught@vikes.csuohio.edu
Treasurer: Anderson Wilder, a.l.wilder@vikes.csuohio.edu
IT Chairperson: Alec Wiggins, a.p.wiggins@vikes.csuohio.edu
Diversity Officer: Brittany Christy: b.christy@vikes.csuohio.edu
Research Chairperson: Cheyene Horner: c.k.horner@vikes.csuohio.edu
Podcasting Chairperson: Kevin Jaworski: k.jaworski96@vikes.csuohio.edu
Web Manager Chairperson: Savanna Davis: s.m.davis23@vikes.csuohio.edu

The Graduate Association for School Psychology was founded in 2007 as a vehicle for enhancing relationships among cohorts of students enrolled in the CSU School Psychology program; improving communication about program-related issues; providing support for students in their studies; promoting the welfare of children and families in the Greater Cleveland area; and contributing to decisions affecting program curriculum and policies. Through GASP (a CSU Student Government-sponsored organization), students also may be eligible to receive funding for professional activities such as conference attendance and presentations. Officers are elected by current students to represent each of the three cohorts of students – First, Second, and Third (intern) Year students. The School Psychology Program Director serves as the moderator of this student organization. Meetings are held periodically during the academic year, while social activities are scheduled on a periodic basis.

 

External Organizations for Students:

American Psychological Association of Graduate Students - www.apa.org/apags
Association for Support of Graduate Students - www.asgs.org
National Black Graduate Students Associationwww.nbgsa.org