News & Announcements

CSU Salutes Community Leaders with In Tribute to the Public Service Award

Cleveland State University’s Maxine Goodman Levin College of Urban Affairs honored four community leaders January 12 with the 2016 In Tribute to the Public Service Award. The honorees are:

  • Bruce Akers, retired mayor of Pepper Pike and former senior vice president of community affairs for KeyBank;
  • Allan Krulak, former vice president-director of community affairs for Forest City Enterprises;
  • Dennis Lafferty, vice president of Bernie Moreno Companies and former chief operating officer of Jones Day;
  • James Mason, former vice president of public and community affairs for Eaton Corporation.

“These honorees are a remarkable foursome who have had a significant impact on Northeast Ohio, both through their careers in the corporate world and their support for nonprofit organizations across the spectrum, including Levin College. For many years, all four were the public faces of their companies for philanthropic and governmental affairs,” said Levin College Interim Dean Robert Gleeson. “We are pleased to honor them for their achievements.”

Since 1985, Levin College has sponsored In Tribute to the Public Service to salute one or more prominent individuals who demonstrate exemplary leadership in public life and contribute significantly to the betterment of the community. To date, 33 individuals have been recognized.

Proceeds from the event support the Mercedes Cotner Endowed Scholarship, named for the first woman to serve as clerk of Cleveland City Council and awarded to Levin College students who aspire to careers in public service.