News & Announcements

Drs. Jorge Gatica and Daniel Simon Honored at President's Convocation

Jorge E. Gatica, Ph.D., received the Dr. Jennie S. Hwang Award for Faculty Excellence at Cleveland State University’s 2015 President’s Convocation.

CSU President Ronald M. Berkman presented the award to Dr. Gatica during a ceremony Thursday, October 8, in Waetjen Auditorium.

Dr. Gatica is a professor in the Department of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering and director of graduate programs at the Washkewicz College of Engineering.

The Dr. Jennie S. Hwang Award is the highest honor for CSU faculty members in all disciplines and recognizes individuals for bringing regional, national and international recognition to the University through exceptional achievements in teaching, research and service. The award is named after Dr. Jennie S. Hwang, a member of the Cleveland State University Foundation board of directors and founder, president and CEO of H Technologies Group. She established the award through a gift to the Foundation to help inspire faculty to ever-increasing levels of excellence.

Dr. Gatica also received a Distinguished Faculty Award for Service.

These CSU faculty and staff members also were honored during the ceremony in the following categories:

Christopher L. Sagers, J.D., professor of law, Cleveland-Marshall College of Law
Daniel J. Simon, Ph.D., professor of electrical and computer engineering, Washkewicz College of Engineering

- See more at