Engineering Technology

Engineering Technology


The Engineering Technology Department is one of six departments in the Washkewicz College of Engineering at Cleveland State University (CSU). The division was established in 1970. Currently, only two programs are offered: Electronics & Mechanical Engineering Technology. These programs are two-year upper-division programs leading to a Bachelor of Science in Engineering Technology degree (BSEET & BSMET).

A Bachelor of Science in Engineering Technology graduate is qualified to work in positions requiring the, "application of scientific and engineering knowledge and methods combined with technical skills in support of engineering activities," as stated by ABET. CSU's Engineering Technology graduates are employed in a diverse range of industries, including, industrial control and automation, aerospace, medical, computer, telecommunications, and defense industries. Most importantly, Engineering Technology prepares graduates to contribute immediately in these industries.


Cleveland State University (CSU), located in downtown Cleveland, is one of the nation's youngest state universities. With nearly one-fifth of Ohio's population, the metropolitan area surrounding CSU contains many leading businesses and industries. Created by action of the Ohio General Assembly in 1964, CSU provides quality education at reasonable cost to the citizens of Northeast Ohio. Merger with Fenn College, a private institution founded in 1923, enabled Cleveland State University to open its doors as a public institution of higher education in September 1965. The University is organized into seven colleges: Business Administration, Education and Human Services, Engineering, Liberal Arts and Social Sciences, Science, Graduate Studies, Law and Urban Affairs.