Academics

Academics

Department of Urban Studies  Welcome students.jpg

Academic Programs

Course Information

Dean's List

The Maxine Goodman Levin College of Urban Affairs teaches men and women how to work effectively for positive change in the communities of Northeast Ohio. By blending a broad understanding of the urban environment with advanced problem-solving skills, urban affairs graduates qualify for a variety of positions in the public, private, and nonprofit sectors. Research undertaken through the college directly links the university with the concerns of the Cleveland metropolitan area.

Both the instructional and research programs of the college are interdisciplinary in character, drawing on resources and specialized skills throughout the university. Adjunct faculty from community agencies and government supplements the full-time faculty and staff of the college.

Levin College graduates are engaged in city planning, program development, community organizing, public safety and homeland security, nonprofit administration, environmental and sustainability policy development and analysis, public finance and economic development. Many graduates have found the urban affairs majors to be a strong foundation for advanced study in law, urban planning, public administration, or environmental policy and management.

Important Contacts

Department Chair

Dr. Mittie Davis Jones
m.d.jones97@csuohio.edu
UR 238B, 216.687.3861
 

Undergraduate Advising

Dr. Mary Myers
m.c.myers@csuohio.edu
UR 210, 216.687.2138

Graduate Advising

Dave Arrighi
d.arrighi@csuohio.edu
UR 211, 216.523.7522

Undergraduate Programs
(Academic Issues & Internships)

Office of Student Services
urbanprograms@csuohio.edu
UR 205, 216.687.3884

MA in Environmental Studies

Dr. Sanda Kaufman
s.kaufman@csuohio.edu
UR 220, 216.687.2367

MPA Director

Dr. Nicholas Zingale
n.zingale@csuohio.edu
UR 320, 216.802.3389

MS in Urban Studies Director

Dr. Brian A Mikelbank
b.mikelbank@csuohio.edu
UR 346, 216.875.9980

MUPD Director

Dr. Stephanie Ryberg-
Webster (Interim Director) 

s.ryberg@csuohio.edu
UR 222, 216.802.3386

PhD Director

Dr. Wendy Kellogg
(Interim Director)

w.kellogg@csuohio.edu
UR 308, 216.687.5265

MNAL Director (Interim Director)

Dr. Mittie Davis Jones
m.d.jones97@csuohio.edu
UR 238B, 216.687.3861

Assistant Director of Student Services

Rachel Singer
r.g.singer88@csuohio.edu
UR 208, 216.687.2034

College Admissions Recruiter

Office of Student Services
urbanprograms@csuohio.edu
UR 205, 216.687.4506