Student Life

National Pan-Hellenic Council (NPHC) Fraternities & Sororities - Fraternity & Sorority Life

CSU NPHC Fraternities & Sororities

NPHC Fraternities

ALPHA PHI ALPHA: The Alphas were the first intercollegiate fraternity established for Black students in 1906 at Cornell and strive to foster close association and unified support among Black students, and encourage good character, sound scholarship and service. Their motto is “first of all, service to all, we shall transcend all.” Distinguished ALPHA’s: Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr., Thurgood Marshall, Duke Ellington and W.E.B. DuBois.

KAPPA ALPHA PSI: This fraternity was established at Indiana University in 1911 and believe in “training for leadership.” Their purpose is to encourage achievement by uniting men of culture, patriotism, and honor for mutual support. Distinguished KAPPA’s are Tom Bradley, Arthur Ashe, Wilt Chamberlain, Rev Leon Sullivan.

PHI BETA SIGMA: Phi Beta Sigma was founded in 1914 at Howard University under the mission of “culture for service, service for humanity.” Their purposes are to promote brotherhood and community service and to pursue academic excellence. Distinguished SIGMA’s: George Washington Carver, Jerry Rice, Dr. James Weldon Johnson and Scottie Pippin.

NPHC Sororities

ALPHA KAPPA ALPHA: Founded in 1908 at Howard University, AKA’s motto is “by culture and by merit” and their purposes are to cultivate and encourage high scholastic achievement and ethical standards and to promote unity and sisterhood among collegiate women. Distinguished AKA’s: Gladys Knight, Rosa Parks, Maya Angelou, Coretta Scott King.

DELTA SIGMA THETA: The Sorority was founded in 1913 by 22 students at Howard University. These young women wanted to use their collective strength to promote academic excellence; to provide scholarships; to provide support to the underserved; educate and stimulate participation in the establishment of positive public policy; and to highlight issues and provide solutions for problems in their communities.

SIGMA GAMMA RHO: Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc. was founded November 12, 1922 in Indianapolis, Indiana by 7 educators at Butler University. With the motto “Greater Service, Greater Progress" the women of the royal blue and gold work to encourage and promote high scholastic attainment, community service, and improvement of the quality of life and the society in which we live. Famous members of Sigma Gamma Rho include, Anna Marie Horsford, Kelly Price, MC Lyte and many more.

ZETA PHI BETA: Zetas began at Howard in 1920 and supports their purpose to foster the ideals of service, charity, scholarship, civic and cultural endeavors, sisterhood, and “finer womanhood.” Distinguished ZETA’s: Dionne Warwick, Clara McLaughlin, Esther Rolle and Algenita Scott Davis.