Department of Biological, Geological, and Environmental Sciences (BGES)

Welcome to the Department of BGES

Erin Huber
Erin Huber BS EVS, Director of Drink Local Drink Tap, named one of Cleveland's Most Interesting People. Photo credits: Laura Watilo Blake

The Department of Biological, Geological, and Environmental Sciences (BGES) at Cleveland State University was formed in July, 1997, by the merger of the Department of Biology and the Department of Geological Sciences. It is one of the founding Departments of the College of Science.

The Department offers a wide range of instruction in the fields of Biology, Geology, and Environmental Science. It offers BS and BA degrees at the undergraduate level, as well as MS degrees in Biology and in Environmental Science, and a PhD in Regulatory Biology. Students at both undergraduate and graduate levels have the opportunity to carry out research in conjunction with faculty, as well as independent study in areas of their own interest, and to take a wide range of formal courses. Together with adjunct researchers at the Lerner Research Institute of the Cleveland Clinic, the department has a strong focus on basic research in molecular and cell biology as related to biomedical questions. A second major research focus is on the physical and biological aspects of the environment and ecology of the region.


BGES Department: Administrative Personnel
Function Person Email Telephone
Chair Dr. Crystal Weyman c.weyman@csuohio.edu (216) 687-6971
Associate Chair Dr. Ralph Gibson a.gibson@csuohio.edu (216) 523-7538
Associate Chair Dr. Barbara Modney b.modney@csuohio.edu (216) 687-2448
Undergraduate Advising:
Biology (incl. Post-baccalaureate);
Med Tech
Dr. Barbara Modney b.modney@csuohio.edu (216) 687-2448
Undergraduate Program Director & Advising: Environmental Science Dr. Julie Wolin
j.wolin@csuohio.edu
(216) 687-3505
Undergraduate Program Director & Advising: Geology Dr. Abbed Babaei a.babaei@csuohio.edu (216) 687-3506
Undergraduate Advising:
Honors Program
Dr. Bibo Li b.li37@csuohio.edu (216) 687-2444
Undergraduate Program Director: Robert A. Krebs R.KREBS@csuohio.edu (216) 523-7553
Graduate Program Director& Advising

Dr. Anton Komar

a.komar@csuohio.edu
(216) 687-2516
Graduate Admission queries

BGES office

bges@csuohio.edu
(216) 687-2440
Administrative Assistant Ms. Carolee Pichler bges.ac@csuohio.edu (216) 523-7539
Departmental Secretary Ms. Monica Hayden m.a.hayden@csuohio.edu (216) 523-7270
Laboratory Manager Ms. Michele Zinner m.zinner@csuohio.edu (216) 687-2443
Lab Coordinator Ms. Brooke Snyder b.l.snyder@csuohio.edu (216) 687-2522

For CSU undergraduate and graduate catalogs, application materials, etc., go to CSU Admissions .

Click for direct links to the CSU Library's subject portals in Biology, Environmental Science, Geology, and Geography.


This website was designed & implemented by Daniela C. Smith.
Subsequent modifications by M. Gates, J. Dean, & A.F. Schermaier.

Click to e-mail the local webmaster

Updated: 1 July, 2012

Untitled Document engaged learning

sequence of BGES images

Mailing Address
Cleveland State University
Department of Biological, Geological, and Environmental Sciences
2121 Euclid Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44115-2214
Campus Locations
Main / Undergraduate Office
Basic Science Building
2399 Euclid Avenue
Room SI-219
(216) 687-2440
bges@csuohio.edu

Graduate Office
Basic Science Building
2399 Euclid Avenue
Room SI-219
(216) 687-2440
gpd.bges@csuohio.edu

Fax Numbers
(216) 687-6972 (Main)

This site contains files that require the free Adobe Reader to view.