Research

University Research Council

What is the University Research Council?

The University Research Council (URC) consists of fifteen eligible faculty or staff members, a representative of the graduate faculty, and the director of Sponsored Programs and Research Services. The responsibilities of the URC include (full bylaws):

  • Reviewing and reporting to the faculty, deans, and the provost on all proposals for new policies or programs designed to enhance research productivity and success.
     
  • Reviewing and recommending changes to the vice president for research on internal funding programs for research.
     
  • Participating in the reviewing of proposals for internal competitions, ranking the proposals and forwarding recommendations for funding to the vice president for research.

URC Members

 #  Member Name
(Function)
College/DEPT Contact Information Term a

1

Abelman, Robert
(Member)

College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
(Communication)

MU-212
687-4624
r.abelman@csuohio.edu

Fall 2014- Spring 2017b

2

Arndt, Timothy
(Member)

Washkewicz College of Engineering
(Electrical Engineering and Computer Science)

FH-217
687-4779
t.arndt@csuohio.edu

Fall 2013- Spring 2016c

3

Buckner Inniss, Lolita
(Member)

Cleveland-Marshall College of Law
(Law)

LB-165
687-2311
l.buckner-inniss@csuohio.edu

Fall 2014- Spring 2017

4

Carnell, Rachel
(Member)

College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
(English)

RT-1810
687-3973
r.carnell@csuohio.edu

Spring 2016- Fall 2018e
5

Jayanti, Rama
(Member)

Monte Ahuja College of Business
(Marketing)

BU-456
687-4786
r.jayanti@csuohio.edu

Spring 2016- Fall 2018

6

Kaufman, Sanda
(Member)

Maxine Goodman Levin College of Urban Affairs
(Urban Studies)

UR-220
687-2367
s.kaufman@csuohio.edu

Spring 2016- Fall 2018

7

Koc, Selma
(Member)

College of Education and Human Services
(Curriculum and Foundations)

JH-372
687-4830
s.koch@csuohio.edu

Fall 2014- Spring 2017

8

Kondratov, Roman
(Member)

College of Sciences and Health Professions
(Biology, Geology, Environmental Sciences)

SR-270
523-7199
r.kondratov@csuohio.edu

Fall 2014- Spring 2017

9

Lee, Moo-Yeal
(Member)

Washkewicz College of Engineering
(Chemical & Biomedical Engineering)

FH-439
687-9399
m.lee68@csuohio.edu

Spring 2016- Fall 2018

10

Lendel, Iryna
(Member)

Maxine Goodman Levin College of Urban Affairs
(Center for Economic Development)

UR-355
875-9967
i.lendel@csuohio.edu

Fall 2013- Spring 2016

11

Madhavaram, Sreedhar
(Member)

Monte Ahuja College of Business
(Marketing)

BU-446
687-3797
s.madhavaram@csuohio.edu

Fall 2013- Spring 2016

12

Plecnik, John
(Member)

Cleveland-Marshall College of Law
(Law)

LB-222
687-2346
j.plecnik@csuohio.edu

Fall 2013- Spring 2016d

13

Sun, Xue-Long
(Member)

College of Sciences and Health Professions
(Chemistry)

SI-313
687-3919
x.sun55@csuohio.edu

Fall 2013- Spring 2016

14

Thoman, Joan
(Member)

School of Nursing
(School of Nursing)

JH-260
687-3518
j.thoman@csuohio.edu

Fall 2014- Spring 2017

15

Voight, Adam
(Member)

College of Education and Human Services
(Curriculum & Foundations)

JH-377
687-5437
a.voight@csuohio.edu

Spring 2016- Fall 2018
 

 

Cheryl Delgado
(Graduate Council Representative)

Graduate Council
(School of Nursing)

JH 258
687-5525
c.delgado@csuohio.edu

Fall 2015- Spring 2016

 

 

Sawicki, Jerzy
(Chair)

Office of Research

PH-203
687-9364
j.sawicki@csuohio.edu

 

 

Simon, Dan
(Ex-Officio Member)

Office of Research

PH-210
687-5171
d.j.simon@csuohio.edu

 

 

Yard, Joy
(Administrative Coordinator)

Office of Research

PH-202
697-9364
j.yard@csuohio.edu

 

 

 

Kocevar, Teri
(Director, SPRS)

SPRS, Office of Research

PH-218
687-3675
m.kocevar@csuohio.edu

 

a Terms are inclusive of the beginning and ending semesters indicated
b Professor Robert Abelman is serving a replacement term for Professor Rachel Carnell
c Professor Timothy Arndt is serving a replacement term for Professor Chansu Yu
d Professor John Plecnik is serving a replacement term for Professor Brian Ray
e Professor Rachel Carnell is serving a replacement term for Professor Michael Baumgartner

REVISED
March 2016

URC Meetings

Click here for URC Meeting Minutes (CSU login required).

Fall 2016 URC Meeting Schedule

NOTE: Fall 2016 meetings will be scheduled and posted soon.

Date Time Day Location
TBA