Research

University Research Council

What is the University Research Council?

The University Research Council (URC) consists of fifteen eligible faculty or staff members, a representative of the graduate faculty, and the director of Sponsored Programs and Research Services. The responsibilities of the URC include (full bylaws):

  • Reviewing and reporting to the faculty, deans, and the provost on all proposals for new policies or programs designed to enhance research productivity and success.
     
  • Reviewing and recommending changes to the vice president for research on internal funding programs for research.
     
  • Participating in the reviewing of proposals for internal competitions, ranking the proposals and forwarding recommendations for funding to the vice president for research.

URC Members

 #  Member Name
(Function)
College/DEPT Contact Information Term a
1

Baumgartner, Michael
(Member)

College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
(Music)

MU-316
687-6932
m.baumgartner29@csuohio.edu

Spring 2016- Fall 2018

2

Böerner, Valentin
(Member)

College of Sciences and Health Professions
(Biology, Geology, Environmental Sciences)

SR-281
523-7557
g.boerner@csuohio.edu

Fall 2017- Spring 2020

3

Jayanti, Rama
(Member)

Monte Ahuja College of Business
(Marketing)

BU-456
687-4786
r.jayanti@csuohio.edu

Spring 2016- Fall 2018

4 Judge, Katherine
(Member)

College of Sciences and Health Professions
(Psychology)

UN-244
875-9751
k.judge46@csuohio.edu

Fall 2016- Spring 2019
5

Kaufman, Sanda
(Member)

Maxine Goodman Levin College of Urban Affairs
(Urban Studies)

UR-220
687-2367
s.kaufman@csuohio.edu

Spring 2016- Fall 2018
6

Lee, Moo-Yeal
(Member)

Washkewicz College of Engineering
(Chemical & Biomedical Engineering)

FH-439
687-9399
m.lee68@csuohio.edu

Spring 2016- Fall 2018

7 Lendel, Iryna
(Member)

Maxine Goodman Levin College of Urban Affairs
(Urban Resrch & Public Serv)

UR-355
875-9967
i.lendel@csuohio.edu

Fall 2016- Spring 2019b
8 Majette, Gwendolyn
(Member)

Cleveland-Marshall College of Law
(Law)

LB-221
687-2592
g.majette@csuohio.edu

Fall 2017- Spring 2020

9 Manning, Philip (Member)

College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences
(Criminology Anthropology & Sociology)

RT-1725
687-4504
p.manning@csuohio.edu

Fall 2017- Spring 2020

10

O'Neill, Kevin
(Member)

Cleveland-Marshall College of Law
(Law)

LB-151
687-5282
k.oneill@csuohio.edu

Fall 2016- Spring 2019

11

Pourdavood, Roland
(Member)

College of Education and Human Services
(Teacher Education)

JH-325
687-2072
r.pourdavood@csuohio.edu

Fall 2017- Spring 2020

12

Schoenewald, Catherine
(Member)

School of Nursing
(School of Nursing)

JH-228
687-3890
c.schoenewald@csuohio.edu

Fall 2017- Spring 2020

13

Voight, Adam
(Member)

College of Education and Human Services
(Curriculum & Foundations)

JH-377
687-5437
a.voight@csuohio.edu

Spring 2016- Fall 2018
14

Wang, Wei
(Member)

Monte Ahuja College of Business
(Finance)

BU-319
875-9854
w.wang24@csuohio.edu

Fall 2016- Spring 2019c

15 Wirth, Christopher (Member)

Washkewicz College of Engineering
(Chemical and Biomedical Engineering)

FH-438
687-9225
c.wirth@csuohio.edu

Fall 2016- Spring 2019
 

 

Deng, Ping
(Graduate Council Representative)

Graduate Council
(Management)

BU-434
875-9793
p.deng@csuohio.edu

Fall 2017- Spring 2018

 

 

Sawicki, Jerzy
(Chair)

Office of Research

PH-203
687-9364
j.sawicki@csuohio.edu

 

 

Simon, Dan
(Ex-Officio Member)

Office of Research

PH-210
687-5171
d.j.simon@csuohio.edu

 

 

Yard, Joy
(Administrative Coordinator)

Office of Research

PH-202
697-9364
j.yard@csuohio.edu

 

 

 

Kocevar, Teri
(Director, SPRS)

SPRS, Office of Research

PH-211
687-3675
m.kocevar@csuohio.edu

 

a Terms are inclusive of the beginning and ending semesters indicated
b Professor Iryna Lendel is serving a replacement term for Professor Robert Gleeson
c Professor Wei Wang is serving a replacement term for Professor Susan Storrud-Barnes

REVISED
September 2017

URC Meetings

Click here for URC Meeting Minutes (CSU login required).

Fall 2017 URC Meeting Schedule
Date Time Day Location
September 25, 2017 1:00 p.m. - 2:30 p.m. Monday PH 200
October 23, 2017 11:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. Monday PH 200
December 5, 2017 11:00 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. Tuesday PH 200