Cleveland State University

the Center for Teaching Excellence

Faculty Handbook

Go back to index

Shared Governance

The University's academic and faculty affairs are governed primarily through two bodies the Faculty Senate and the CSU chapter of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP). The primary document pertaining to the Faculty Senate is the Personal Policies and Bylaws (8.0). These Personnel Policies and Bylaws also contain what is commonly referred to as the Green Book, which includes sections 8.1, 8.3, and 8.4 of this document (herein, Bylaws; The primary document pertaining to the American Association of University Professors local chapter is the collective bargaining agreement with the University (herein, Agreement; The structure of these two bodies is reviewed next, while these two documents will be cited often throughout this Faculty Handbook.

Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate is the academic governing body for Cleveland State University. The Senate comprises individuals (mostly faculty members) from across the various Colleges, representing many of the Schools and Departments. The Senate creates academic policy for the University, supported by the University's Administration, and in compliance with accrediting bodies (Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association, Ohio Board of Regents), state laws, and federal regulations.

The Faculty Senate is administratively convened monthly and overseen by the Senate President, Vice-President, and Secretary (  There are voting and non-voting members of the Senate.  Voting members, elected from a self-nominating process, include faculty across the Colleges who serve two-year terms.  Non-voting members include the University President, Provost, and College Deans, as well as a number of students and ex-officio, designated, and professional members ( Any faculty member may attend meetings of the Faculty Senate, though only Faculty Senators may vote or speak unless called upon directly.

Committee Structure

The Faculty Senate has standing (Bylaws 8.2.3(A-S)), assigned, and ad hoc committees focused on a broad range of academic areas.  The standing committees’ memberships are not limited to those faculty who are Senate voting members.  Full-time faculty may serve on the following sixteen standing committees (for full descriptions, see Academic Steering; Faculty Affairs; Curriculum; Athletics; Budget and Finance; Instructional Media Services; Academic Space; Personnel; Computational Services; Admissions and Standards; Student Life; Library; Graduation, Convocation, and Assembly; Minority Affairs; University Petitions; and Environmental Safety and Health Advisory.

Faculty Senate assigned committees include both Senate membership as well as non-Senate faculty membership, with annual elections normally held in spring of the academic year.  These members may serve on the following assigned committees (for full descriptions, see Academic Misconduct Review; Distinguished Faculty Awards; Board of Trustees; Board Committee on Honorary Degrees, Citations, and Recognitions; Ohio Faculty Council; University Peer Review; Bookstore Advisory; Childcare Advisory; Parking and Traffic Advisory; General Fee Advisory; Student Grievance Board; University Judicial Board; Recreation Center Advisory; Resident Life Advisory; University Food Service; Viking Card Advisory; Wolstein Center Advisory; Copyright Review; Patent Review; University Strategic Planning; Capital Planning Advisory; and Equal Opportunity Hearing Panel.           

American Association of University Professors

Tenured, tenure-track, and high seniority lecturer faculty members are represented by the American Association of University Professors (AAUP), the largest union of higher education faculty nationwide.  The National AAUP’s purpose “is to advance academic freedom and shared governance, to define fundamental professional values and standards for higher education, and to ensure higher education's contribution to the common good” (  As a local chapter of the National AAUP, the Cleveland State University AAUP carries out this purpose through contract negotiations, faculty rights representation, and grievance procedures, among other services and duties (  The AAUP Chapter serves as both a collective bargaining unit and as a faculty advocacy body.  This representation culminates with a collective bargaining agreement between the CSU Administration and faculty, which is re-negotiated at regular intervals.  The CSU AAUP is led by an Executive Committee, serving two-year terms – President, Vice-President, Secretary, Treasurer, and two at-large members (  All tenure-track faculty and some non-tenure-track faculty are members of the “Collective Bargaining Unit” (CBU) represented by AAUP and as a consequence pay “fair share” dues.  However, only those faculty who are members of the CBU and who have also formally signed an AAUP membership card are actually members of the AAUP with voting rights.

engaged learning
Mailing Address
Cleveland State University
Center for Teaching Excellence
Main Classroom Building Room 212
2121 Euclid Avenue
Cleveland, OH 44115-2214
Campus Location
Main Classroom Building
Room MC 212
This site contains files that require the free Adobe Reader to view.