About the College

Honors College Council

Member Title College Email Address
Elizabeth Lehfeldt Dean of Honors College Honors College e.lehfeldt@csuohio.edu
Brian Mikelbank Associate Professor of Urban Affairs Urban b.mikelbank@csuohio.edu
Matt Jackson-McCabe Associate Professor of Religious Studies CLASS m.jacksonmccabe@csuohio.edu
Sonya Charles Associate Professor of Philosophy CLASS s.charles07@csuohio.edu
Kiril Streletzky Associate Professor of Physics COSHP k.streletzky@csuohio.edu
Ulrich Zurcher Associate Professor of Physics COSHP u.zurcher@csuohio.edu
Carolyn Broering-Jacobs Director of Legal Writing Program Cleveland Marshall c.broeringjacobs@csuohio.edu
Daniel Winkler Coordinator for the Gifted & Talented Program, Visiting Assistant Professor  COEHS d.l.winkler@csuohio.edu
Jorge Gatica Professor of Chemical Engineering Engineering j.gatica@csuohio.edu

To assure faculty participation in the operation of the CSU Honors College, an Honors Council will be established. The Honors Council's major responsibility will be to institute and monitor policies under which the Honors College will operate; it will have the power to create standing and ad hoc committees to effectuate those policies and goals.

The Honors Council will consist of seven full-time elected faculty members with three-year, renewable, staggered terms; three appointed "teaching" faculty members with one-year, renewable terms; two honors students; one scholar student and the College Dean as an ex-officio member. One member each will be elected by faculties of the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences, the College of Science, the Fenn College of Engineering, the College of Education and Human Services, the James J. Nance College of Business Administration, the Maxine Goodman Levin College of Urban Affairs, and the Cleveland-Marshall College of Law.

The elected members of the Honors Council will appoint three "teaching" faculty representatives each year for one-year, renewable terms from faculty members who are scheduled to teach honors courses and who are not already members of the Honors Council. Two of the teaching faculty members will be those teaching lower-division courses and the third will be teaching as part of the upper-division Honors Program. Finally, the College Dean will select two honors students and one scholar student each year to serve on the Honors Council.