Electrical Engineering and Computer Science


Faculty reseach in Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Department spans many areas in electrical engineering, computer engineering, computer science, and software engineering. These areas include control, communication, power electronics, sensor, digital system, computer network, computer architecture, software design, and software testing.

Research Grants

  • Nigamanth Sridhar (co-PI), National Science Foundation, S-STEM Award: University Scholars in STEM (PI: Leah Gold), $600,000, Sep 2012 - Aug 2017
  • Nigamanth Sridhar (PI), National Science Foundation, REU Supplement Award (CAREER): Exercise Monitoring using Wearable Sensors, $16,000, May 2012 - Jan 2014
  • Nigamanth Sridhar (co-PI), National Science Foundation, Noyce Award: MUST STEM Fellows (PI: Joanne Goodell), $1,199,998, Jul 2011 - Jun 2016
  • Dan Simon (PI), National Science Foundation, Non-contact ECG Monitoring and Diagnosis, $197,588, August 2010-August 2013
  • Dan Simon (PI), Cleveland Clinic, Rapid Rehabilitation and Return to Function for Amputee Soldiers, $230,706, June 2010-December 2012
  • Dan Simon (PI), Innovative Developments, Wireless Gesture Recognition Using Inertial Navigation Systems, $12,083, January 2011 - August 2011
  • Dan Simon (PI), Ford Motor Company, Automotive Engine Time-to-Torque Optimization, $20,000, January 2012 - August 2012
  • Dan Simon (PI), Ford Motor Company, Automotive Fuel Consumption Minimization, $40,000, January 2013 - December 2014
  • Siu-tung Yau, American Diabetes Association, Stabilization of Immobilized Enzymes for Implantable Glucose Monitoring Devices, $300,000, 2008-2011
  • Chansu Yu (PI), Electronics and Telecommunications Research Institute, Mobility and Security Support in Cyber Physical Systems of Battlefield, $390,000, July 2010~January 2014
  • Wenbing Zhao (PI), National Science Foundation, MRI: Acquisition of Equipment to Establish a Secure and Dependable Computing Infrastructure for Research and Education at Cleveland State University, Sep. 1, 2008~Aug. 31, 2012
  • Ye Zhu (PI), National Science Foundation, Towards Next Generation Anonymous Communication Networks, $129,493, 8/1/2011-7/30/2013.


Graduate Research

  • Outstanding Thesis/Dissertation Award
    • 2015: Hua Chai - Application aware for byzantine fault tolerance
    • 2012: Thomas Mis - An analysis of data quality defects in podcasting systems
    • 2012: Shen Zhao - Practical solutions to the non-minimum phase and vibration problems under the disturbance rejection paradigm
    • 2011: Song Cui - Modulation and multiple access techniques for ultra-wideband communication systems
    • 2009: Yao Zhang - Load frequency control of multiple-area power systems
    • 2009: Hua Chai - Performance engineering of a lightweight fault tolerance framework
    • 2008: Ke Chen - Dspace implementation of a generalized method of harmonic elimination for pwm boost type rectifier under unbalanced operating conditions
    • 2007: David Avanesian - Hardware implementation of active disturbance rejection control for vibrating beam gyroscope
    • 2007: Lubo Song - Optimal spatial reuse in mobile ad hoc networks