Chemical and Biomedical Engineering

News and Event Archives

Lubrizol Awards two Scholarships to Chemical & Biomedical Engineering Students

Congratulations to Cathleen O'Grady (Junior) and Frank Marealle (Junior) .The Lubrizol Scholarship recipients for the AY 2006-07

Dr. Orhan Talu Receives 2006 Distinguished Faculty Research Award

Dr. Orhan Talu was recently honored as a recipient of Cleveland State University's 2006 Distinguished Faculty Research Award. Dr. Talu joined the University in 1986. Since then, he has been awarded over $3.8 million in grants from the National Science Foundation, the Department of Energy, NASA, the state of Ohio, industrial companies and other sources for his research in adsorption kinetics, wastewater treatment, and the synthesis and characterization of novel materials. His work encompasses both fundamental and applied aspects of engineering. World-renown in his field, Dr. Talu holds four patents, has published 46 peer-reviewed manuscripts, has made over 100 presentations at national and international meetings, and chaired the Eighth International Conference of Fundamentals of Adsorption

(seated l-r) Kathleen Benghiat, Orhan Talu, Andrew Gross, Eileen Berlin Ray, (standing l-r) Michael Schwartz, Donald Ramos, Leo Jeffres, Darlene Hill, Pamela Charity, Njeri Nuru-Holm.

Welcome Back to School Picnic on 9th september 2006

Who: Chemical and Biomedical Engineering Students, CHE and BME Faculty and Staff

What: Welcome Back to School Picnic

When: Saturday, September 9, 2006 (Preferred Date)

Time: 10:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

Place: Edgewater Park, Cleveland (lower level near the picnic pavilion,
the beach and willow tree)

Check the pictures here

Luginbuhl Receives Cecil N. Coleman Medal

Fifty-nine times during her Viking playing career, Grace Luginbuhl walked off the mound a winner. The Lima, Ohio native may have picked up her biggest win on Thursday (June 29,2006) when she was named as one of two recipients of the Cecil N. Coleman Medal. Luginbuhl joins men's honoree, UW-Milwaukee distance runner Josh Nygren in receiving the award.

Becky Laird receives Kaizen Award for 2006

Kaizen Award Program is to encourage staff who strive for incremental (sometimes very substantial) improvement in activities to support both our students and faculty.

Unit Operations Lab Upgraded

The unit operations lab has been gradually upgraded with the addition of new experiments. The laboratory that accompanies the course Reaction Kinetics now has use of a tubular reactor, a stirred tank that can operate in open-loop or with a control loop, a batch reactor, and a catalytic reactor for the analysis of enzymatic reactions. A fuel-cell unit and an adsorption unit were also recently added to the unit ops lab. Students now take an additional 1-credit lab course in the fall of junior year in order to get them started in experimental design, statistical data analysis, and report writing.

Integrated Design Experience in the Undergraduate Curriculum

The department is continuing the use of the Integrated Design Experience (IDE) in our curriculum. This program was initiated to help students integrate the topics from the various courses in the curriculum before they reach the capstone design project in their senior year. Each entering sophomore class is assigned a design project and they work on a small piece of this one project in each of their core courses. During the first semester of Process Design in their senior year, the students integrate their individual projects to develop a complete design. In this way, students start doing design early in the program, and they learn how the design of one subsystem impacts that of the entire project. Student feedback has indicated that the IDE has been successful in helping them integrate the individual course topics into a better understanding of chemical engineering and design.

Faculty Updates

Dr. Orhan Talu has been elected the Vice-President of the International Adsorption Society (IAS), and will become the President of IAS in May 2007.

Dr. Sridhar Ungarala has been promoted to Associate Professor with tenure.


Applied Biomedical Engineering Alumnus Wins Prestigious Awards

Alvaro Mata (D.Eng in Applied Biomedical Engineering, Cleveland State University, 2005) received the the 2005 IBNAM/Baxter Early Career award. The Baxter Early Career Award was established in 2002 by the Baxter Healthcare Corporation and Northwestern University's Institute for BioNanotechnology in Medicine (IBNAM) to collaborate on early discovery projects in nanoscience. For details see: Alvaro Mata has also received the Costa Rica Technology Award of 2005 for his dissertation work.

Assistant Professor Receives Award for Best Paper at National Conference

Dr. Sridhar Ungarala has received the “Best Technical Presentation” from the American Control Conference in Boston, MA in 2004 for his paper entitled "Bayesian cell filter for constrained non-Gaussian estimation".

The Lubrizol Foundation Scholarship

The Lubrizol foundation scholarship for the 2005-2006 was awarded to two undergraduate Chemical Engineering students, Mr. Rostyslav Puts and Ms. Ann Trela.