English Department


Student Creative Writing Contest Spring 2012

Cleveland State University Creative Writing Contest Winners
4 Undergraduate and 4 Graduate Students will split the prize of $10,320. Each will be awarded $1,290.25. The winners are:

2012 Graduate Winners 2012 Undergraduate Winners
Chris Smith (poetry) Athena Pallotta (poetry)
Kate Graham (fiction) Bronwyn Valentine (poetry)
Katie Wallace (playwriting) Carter Strong (poetry)
Nick Elder (fiction) Delia Crawford (fiction)

The Leonard Trawick Award
Daniel Riordan || Genevieve Jencson || Mirissa Rini

The Neal Chandler Award
Bronwyn Valentine

The Academy of American Poets Prize, judged by James Allen Hall
Winner: Chris Smith || Honorable Mentions: Mirissa Rini and Samantha Fletcher

$10,320 to be divided among the winners || Submission Deadline:  FRIDAY, APRIL 6th

Eligibility: All Students who are currently enrolled at CSU (undergraduate, graduate, and NEOMFA students who have CSU as their gateway) are eligible to enter and receive award funds.

To submit: Send portfolios of fiction, poetry, drama, creative nonfiction, or a combination of poetry and prose.

For prose, submit two or more pieces (short stories, novel chapters, personal essays, short plays, creative nonfiction). For poetry, submit six to ten poems. The first page mustcontain author’s name, home address, e-mail address, phone number, CSU ID number, date of birth, status (sophomore, grad student, etc.), and include author’s initials on the subsequent pages.

Manuscripts should be e-mailed as a Word document to Michael Dumanis
at csupc.mgr@gmail.com.

Winners will be posted in the Department of English on or after Monday, April 21st, 2012.

For more information visit: www.csuohio.edu/english or call 216-687-3986.


2010 Graduate Winners 2010 Undergraduate Winners
Megan Erwin Yuriy Pavlo Bilokonsky
Krysia Orlowski Brian Furman
Elena Tomorowitz Marissa Cathryn Hyde

Approximately $9,000 in tuition remission for spring, summer, or fall 2010 will be divided evenly among student winners.

Many thanks to all students who sent in their work. The 2010 contest was judged by Professors Michael Dumanis and Imad Rahman.  The contest will be offered again during spring semester, 2011.

engaged learning
Mailing Address
Department of English
College of Liberal Arts & Social Sciences
Cleveland State University
2121 Euclid Ave., RT 1815
Cleveland, OH 44115-2214
Campus Location
Rhodes Tower 1815
1860 E. 22nd Street
Stephanie E. Nunley
Phone: 216.687.3951
This site contains files that require the free Adobe Reader to view.