Police Blotter

About Us

Stater Archives

School of Communication

The Cleveland Stater YouTube Channel Visit us at:

The Cleveland Stater Facebook Page The Cleveland Stater Twitter The Cleveland Stater YouTube Channel


June 6, 2013

Vikings awarded James J. McCafferty Trophy

Cleveland State sports crowned Horizon League champions


By Ronnie Holman

The Cleveland State Athletic Program was awarded its second James J. McCafferty trophy as the top sports program in the Horizon League for the 2012-2013 season. Cleveland State University’s Athletic Program recieved the trophy at a cermony held at the Horizon League Headquarters in Chicago.

The McCafferty TrophyThe McCafferty trophy is awarded annually to the top sports program in the Horizon League. With the women’s volleyball team and men’s soccer, swimming, diving and tennis teams all winning conference championships this past season, Cleveland State was the top school this year and captured its first McCafferty trophy in five years.

Cleveland State was the leader with 45 points overall.
Cleveland State’s men topped out with 26 points, which led the men’s division. The women finished fourth in their division, earning 19 points.

This was only Cleveland State’s second time winning the award.
Cleveland State beat out Loyola University Chicago and
in overall points.

“Congratulations to our student-athletes, coaches and support staff, all of whom strive for excellence every day in their preparation and their will to win,” said John Parry, Cleveland State’s director of athletics. “Our theme this year was finish viking strong, and the Vikings have, in fact, finished strong.”

The McCafferty trophy is named after James J. McCafferty, former Xavier University athletic director and the inaugural comissioner of the Midwestern City Conference, now known as the Horizon League.