Police Blotter

About Us

Stater Archives

School of Communication

The Cleveland Stater YouTube Channel Visit us at:

The Cleveland Stater Facebook Page The Cleveland Stater Twitter The Cleveland Stater YouTube Channel


Fulbrights Honored

November 10, 2011

By Brandon Blackwell

Cleveland State honored 20 of the university’s most recent Fulbright scholars during a ceremony in the Student Center Ballroom Nov. 7.

The Fulbright Program is an international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government that provides funding for students and educators to undertake study and research in other countries.

CSU Fulbright participants gave presentations about their experiences abroad during the ceremony.

According to a press release, CSU now has 34 Fulbright scholars who are part of its active faculty. Last year, the university ranked second in the nation for the number of new Fulbright scholars produced in a single academic year with seven.

“This has been an enormously successful program for CSU, demonstrating the university’s commitment to international outreach and understanding,” said CSU President Ronald M. Berkman in the press release. “In doing so, we have greatly enriched our students with the experiences of our professors and helped narrow cultural divides around the world.”

Those recognized participated in countries such as Morocco, Turkey, Kenya, Nepal, United Arab Emirates, South Africa, Zambia and Nigeria.

“The best part about being a Fulbright scholar is being able to share your knowledge and exchange ideas with students and colleagues from other countries, as well as learn from them,” said Associate Professor Dr. Maria Angelova, who spent time teaching graduate courses in Turkey. “Traveling and getting to know other cultures is a life changing experience that positively influences both your personal and professional life.”

Angelova added she uses her experience abroad to improve her teaching at CSU.
Participants in the Fulbright Program are chosen based on academic merit and leadership potential.

The Fulbright scholars recognized during the ceremony are: Dr. Maria Angelova, Dr. Joshua Bagaka’s, Dr. Chenchu Bathala, Dr. Stephen Cory, Dr. Adam Fadllala, Dr. Jorge Gatica, Dr. Rama Gorla, Dr. Rodger Govea, Dr. Mike Lin, Dr. Mike Loovis, Dr. Victor Matos, Dr. Ralph Mawdsley, Dr. Nancy Meyer Emerick, Dr. Santosh Misra, Dr. Murali Nair, Mr. Edwin Price, Dr. Alan Reichert, Dr. Robert Simons, Dr. Lih Ching Chen Wang, and Dr. Regenna Williams.