Police Blotter

About Us

Stater Archives

School of Communication

The Cleveland Stater YouTube Channel Visit us at:

The Cleveland Stater Facebook Page The Cleveland Stater Twitter The Cleveland Stater YouTube Channel


James A. Lock receives Faculty Excellence award

BY Victoria Davis

Oct. 13, 2011

On Oct. 6, a convocation was held for President Ronald M. Berkman’s state of the university address, as well as to honor distinguished faculty and staff members who were recognized for high achievement in research, teaching and service at Cleveland State.

The Dr. Jennie S. Hwang Award for Faculty Excellence, the highest honor for faculty members in all disciplines, was awarded to James A. Lock of the College of Sciences and Health Professions.

The Distinguished Faculty Award for Service was awarded to Beth A. Ekelman of the College of Sciences and Health Professions.

Distinguished Faculty Awards for Teaching were awarded to Vera D. Vogelsang-Coombs of the Maxine Goodman Levin College of Urban Affairs and Dinah Volk of the College of Education and Human Services.

Distinguished Faculty Awards for Research were awarded to Lock and Mary Ellen Waithe of the College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences.

Distinguished Service Awards for Professional and Classified staff was awarded to Rebecca Laird, Fenn College of Engineering, and Sandra L. English Shambley, Cleveland-Marshall College of Law.